More on truth and journalism

In my previous post, https://believeanyway.wordpress.com/2013/06/25/journalism-and-ethics-in-a-blogging-world/I wrote about journalism and ethics. As always, in a culture, we get the discourse and leadership that we deserve. What we deserve is what we insist upon. What do we as a society do when leaders, media, scientists, or others fall short of what we think they should be? Do we hold ourselves to a similar high standard? We don’t really need to say what is truth, really. We know the difference between truth and lies. Now, you know that I can be quite verbose. Perhaps it takes me a lot of words to cover what is in my heart because I cannot find the perfect way to say it. So I resort to saying it a lot of different ways in the hopes that those ways will convey my meaning.

My blogging friend Gwen writes exquisitely. Sometimes she writes in prose, other times in poetry. She is also a professor of journalism, and former high school English teacher. It is no surprise that her writing leaves me in awe. I have said the same thing about my other poetic bloggers, by the way. I stink at poetry! That is not my point, though.

Gwen wrote an insightful poem about truth that you must, must, MUST read. Here is the link. Stop by her place and say hi. http://gwensworld.net/2013/06/25/to-my-journalism-students-on-the-subject-of-truth/, Her call to action and commentary on sowing seeds is unforgettable.

About Kate Kresse

I love to write, I love to talk, I love to uplift people when I can. I am a woman in love with life. I am a wife, mom, tutor, writer, and I am a perennial optimist. (OK not every single minute but you get the point! :-)
This entry was posted in blogging, ethics, faith/courage/miracles/hope, journalism, Writing and Literature and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to More on truth and journalism

  1. Thanks Kate I have now followed Gwen.

Leave a Reply

