Sometimes the animals have it just right

Believe it or not, this is my 998th post for my blog. I have journeyed through so much since I began my blog. I will try to come up with something special for post 1,000. Today, though I am so grateful for our pets. They add so much to our lives. We have 3 pets. When we were on our trip to the Midwest to attend two weddings, we REALLY missed our pets!

974779_3215114434698_578676992_n

We have an almost 14 year old Lab named Kayleen. She is a sweetie and she has always been one to pick up on how we are feeling. If someone is having a tough day, she senses it and is just right there for the person.

804208_2908649213259_1191835611_n

Then there are our two kitties (Samuel—7 years old already, and Bogo–a baby of almost 3). Bogo imprinted himself on our son when he wandered into our lives.  I swear he did. When Josh leaves the room, Bogo follows him, and then when he comes back in the room, Bogo walks beside him, meowing and purring at the same time. When Josh heads up to bed, Bogo races him up the stairs. Bogo is all white with sapphire blue eyes.

Both cats are loaded with personality, and are extremely interactive. Anytime we are watching a sporting event on TV, if I holler at the game, Samuel (he is grey and white with emerald green eyes) runs and jumps up on the couch with me and hollers. I don’t know if he is joining the cheering, or asking me to calm down. I think it is the latter.

I snapped the picture below of Bogo earlier this week. He was napping in one of his usual silly postures. I am sure that some days, each of us feels exactly like his posture shows. In the heat of summer, isn’t it lovely to kick back, and put your feet up and take a nap? I remember taking a towel out in the back yard as a kid on a summer day, armed with a book. There I’d be on my belly with a book, and before I knew it I would happily nod off. In those unstructured times, I would re-find my heart that so easily gets buried under responsibilities, tasks, and social happenings. You see, I knew even then that I needed to “stop the world” a bit.

Of course, Jesus modeled that repeatedly for his apostles. He’d hop in a boat and go across the lake. He’d walk. He’d just sit. He didn’t preach every minute. He knew. And He knew we needed a model of balance.

I wonder if kids today get enough restorative time like that? I know, they have educational programs, enrichment programs, sports, camps, etc. We all have busy times. But to hear the voice of God, and discern His guidance, I need restorative time. Look at my little Bogo here. He is definitely taking time to regroup!

974919_3208501589381_836165150_n

About Kate Kresse

I love to write, I love to talk, I love to uplift people when I can. I am a woman in love with life. I am a wife, mom, tutor, writer, and I am a perennial optimist. (OK not every single minute but you get the point! :-)
This entry was posted in faith/courage/miracles/hope. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Sometimes the animals have it just right

  1. If post #998 (!) is this good, I’m looking forward to post # 1000 (!!!) – No pressure, Kate, just encouragement 🙂

  2. dogear6 says:

    I think this is a big problem with my daughter. She has multiple activities going on and drags everyone in with her because she can’t get it all done (part of why we don’t want to live any closer than we do). She’s also sick a lot and I think it’s because she won’t ever just rest and relax.

    Nancy

    • Kate Kresse says:

      Nancy ~ when she does get sick does she stop and re-group? Isn’t if odd that there are some lessons we need to keep re-learning? Wise of you to keep a geographic distance so that you don’t get pulled into her over-commitments! Sometimes we just have to do what is good for ourselves.

      • dogear6 says:

        No, when she gets sick she does not slow down or regroup. It’s been a repeat pattern for years and she refuses to give anything up.

        • Kate Kresse says:

          Argh completely entrenched in the behavior. Sometimes people do not want to invest themselves in change. I know that there are parts of me that are entrenched like that. But I am determined to change that!

Leave a Reply

