Half-year resolutions: Things we can do

Here we are nearly half-way through the year already. I don’t know about you, but I know I like to assess things at about this point in the year. Martha Stewart and so many others have all kinds of suggestions and ideas of how we can spend our time or funds. You know…make your own pottery, weave a rug, learn 5 new languages…yes, little things like that! But you see, I have other ideas of things we can do. Now yes, this is a lengthy list. Some of it was in my newspaper on New Year’s Day. Guess who cleaned out a closet? Mmm-hmm! Now I want to issue an official kate-warning here. Do not look at this daunting list and say “if I don’t do ALL of these things I am a loser”. Don’t go there! Instead, if there is one thing on the list that you’d like to try, go ahead! Yep, just one. If there is one thing you have already done, take a bow.

Remember, Believe Anyway is a safe place. I do not believe in minimizing you or your efforts. I know for certain that you have such a special way of being in this world. You enrich this world. Guess what? I do too. So here goes ~

* Leave your change in the vending machine for someone to find. * go ahead and do something weird or silly. * If you can’t think of a silly thing, go to this link ย https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PJQVlVHsFF8ย and see David Hasselhoff sing a silly song. * Send a handwritten letter to a child with a stamp so that he/she knows the thrill. * Greet someone with true warmth. * Donate some of your things to Goodwill. * Frame something. * Take in a pet from a shelter, or volunteer at a shelter, or pet sit for a friend. * Organize a drawer. * Find a new recipe. * If a friend loses someone, mark it on the calendar and see how he/she is doing in 6 months. * Don’t let past hurts define you or change your heart. * Stay up late or get up early. * Wear your seat belt. * Do one thing you have been putting off. * laugh out loud. *Get to know the benefit of the doubt. * Change your radio station. * Take a leap of faith. *Stop feeling guilty unless you really are. * Get a physical. * Wear a color you almost never wear. *Eat somewhere else—and that doesn’t mean you have to go to a restaurant; pack a lunch and go somewhere new! *Notice someone. * pray for someone. * Chat with God. * Sign your organ donation card. * Watch an old movie. *pay anonymously for someone in line. * Have breakfast in bed. * Find an old friend. * Pick up a rock or shell that catches your eye and carry it in your pocket. * Make a CD of or listen to the music you loved in school. * Deal with your photos or files. * Walk. * Explore the library. * pick something you don’t understand and find out about it. ย * pick one negative thing your brain tells you and set it straight. * Breathe deeply. * take old towels or blankets to the animal shelter. * Deal with one thing that is holding you back. * Smile at someone. * plant some seeds, seeds are cheap. * Send a thank-you note or email to someone who made or still makes a difference in your life. * Take a different route when running an errand, going to work, or going to church or school. * Remember that dream? Take a baby step; just one. * Say something nice to yourself. * write yourself a letter of appreciation. * Skip or dance. *Remember good things. * play with a child’s toy at a yards sale table—a top, blocks, play-Dough or something. Tactile is good. * Re-read an old favorite book. * Wash a window a day until they are all done. * have some fresh summer fruit; chock-full of the nutrients you may need right now. * scan the yard for birds or butterflies, and listen for their songs. * make a little boat out of leaves and sticks if it rains — float it in the water filled street gutters!

So see what I mean?

About Kate Kresse

I love to write, I love to talk, I love to uplift people when I can. I am a woman in love with life. I am a wife, mom, tutor, writer, and I am a perennial optimist. (OK not every single minute but you get the point! :-)
This entry was posted in faith/courage/miracles/hope, Family Life and Issues, Nature and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Half-year resolutions: Things we can do

  1. Hey there! This was fun.
    Umm…I hired a 13-yr.-old girl to do the outsides of all 26 of my windows, as a show of my appreciation for her constant good attitude about real work. She did a great job for one so young, and it was far better than what I would have done, which was NOTHING. And I refuse to feel guilty about not doing it myself.
    Does that count? ๐Ÿ˜‰

Leave a Reply

