Seeing beauty creates peace

LakeInSwitzerlandByAliSiebThroughout my life, when i have felt stressed or low, i sought out places that are beautiful. The beauty of creation, especially near water, soothes me when i am downhearted. You see, when i cannot make sense of things, i need to go where my heart can think. When things or events in life bring hurt, i feel the urge to get myself to soothing peaceful places. I feel emotionally safe in those places. Why the urge to run and find safe places? Am I in ongoing danger? Heavens no. Generally, things that cause me pain are more of an emotional drive-by kind of thing. You know, unexpected comments, attitudes, etc.

After a certain amount of that I feel my joy draining right on out of me. I feel vulnerable and beat up. When I can no longer take it, and feel like I can’t take a chance, I retreat. I either journey physically or mentally to a safe place. I “walk in the Garden or on the shore” with the Lord. I remember back to times with special, special friends. I remember laughter and joyous times. the beauty of those places, those moments, and those people, restores me.

My heart then becomes a beautiful place again. There is beauty around us. May your heart find space and beauty today, wherever you are.

About Kate Kresse

I love to write, I love to talk, I love to uplift people when I can. I am a woman in love with life. I am a wife, mom, tutor, writer, and I am a perennial optimist. (OK not every single minute but you get the point! :-)
This entry was posted in Bullying, faith/courage/miracles/hope, Friendship and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Seeing beauty creates peace

  1. Caddo-Jael says:

    “Emotional drive-by’s”–yep, life’s full of ’em. God bless you today Kate.

  2. Oh Kate, I could relate in every way with your beautiful words. Thank-you so much for this heart warming post. Have a fabulous day my friend. hugs, Renee ♥

  3. Lucid Gypsy says:

    And you have a day filled with peace and joy Kate!

  4. Pingback: Life Enthusiast | Living Thoreauly

Leave a Reply

