Make a hole in my limitations-roof: Jesus awaits

Do you remember the Scripture story about when Jesus was preaching and there was a huge crowd? No that doesn’t narrow it down, does it? Well, there were some men that were carrying a paralyzed man on a pallet (kind of like a stretcher). They could not get through the crowd to reach Jesus. The men had heard of Jesus’ healings. They climbed up on the roof with the paralyzed man, cut a hole in the roof, and dropped (or lowered) him down into the room right beside Jesus.

 

Where there is a will, there IS a way. They were determined to get their friend in front of Jesus. Jesus healed the man of his sins. Then he healed him of his paralysis. Jesus asked the crowd which healing was the most significant? To most of the crowd, the physical healing was the most significant. After all, the man could not walk, and now he cold. Now he could have a full life, earn a livelihood, and more.

But in reality, with Jesus, the man’s soul would still have been paralyzed, but by sin. What prevents us from rejoicing, from realizing our potential? It, too, is some sort of paralysis. As we make our way through our lives, we come to realize that we have limitations: limitations in what we can achieve; limitations in what we are either willing or able to overcome; pride; and so much more. All of those things are the roof that separates us from God’s graces and healing.

So what to do? Of course! Make a hole in our own limitations. Be willing to throw away the limitations. After all, how faithful can we become to God if our own flaws no longer separate us from Him? How joyful can we become? How dedicated can we become to developing our talents? How about to reaching out to others? I am beginning to see that that roof of my own maybe fear surely does keep my hand our of Jesus’ hand at times. So either I am standing on the roof and I need to cut a hole and drop back down into His room and His presence. OR I need to cut a hole in the same roof, but climb out of the pit up onto the roof where He awaits me…..

That of course, goes along with the image I return to in my head. I am either sitting on a dock, dangling my feet in the water, and He sits beside me. OR I am walking the beach beside Him as the waves lap at our feet. OR I see Him up ahead, and I run to Him.

 

All in all, our own shortcomings and fears can be cut through. Prayer….

About Kate Kresse

I love to write, I love to talk, I love to uplift people when I can. I am a woman in love with life. I am a wife, mom, tutor, writer, and I am a perennial optimist. (OK not every single minute but you get the point! :-)
This entry was posted in faith/courage/miracles/hope, Scripture and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Make a hole in my limitations-roof: Jesus awaits

  1. auntyuta says:

    I think I know what you mean by fear, dear Kate. We all experience some kind of fear at times. Prayer can lead us to where there’s no fear any more. Just knowing that Jesus is all around us and always present can get rid of all our fears. Wishing you joy, contentment and peace! 🙂
    Love, Uta.

  2. I seem to have hit a brick wall with progress, or maybe it is the roof. I am praying and asking for guidance where that hole of God’s provisions is. I trust and believe the scenerio will have changed within a year. I am open to all God has for me.

    • Kate Kresse says:

      Gosh I have hit that brick wall this year too!! It seems that God is sending new messages to us both—it is hard at times to discern the voice and direction. I am confident that He will speak with complete clarity when my heart is full of readiness and acceptance. Have a blessed day, Deanna….He will guide your steps—I know that you know that, and that your heart is ready. Be blessed!

  3. Caddo-Jael says:

    I like this illustration a lot–thanks Professor!! God bless you today–love, sis Caddo

    • Kate Kresse says:

      I liked it too! I thought it was SO cool!!! Professor—aw thanks….my ballet teacher used to call us professors when we were tiny girls!! God bless your day, sis Caddo—hugs, Kate

Leave a Reply

