An umbrella can tell you a lot about a fella

The very first time my husband and I met, it was for a blind date. It was to go to the James Taylor concert. It had been raining, and there was a chance of rain again that night. Jim brought an umbrella.

He is the only guy I dated who EVER brought an umbrella along. It is difficult to describe to you how surprising that simple forethought meant. I did not fall in love that night, that happened quite awhile later. But his true gallantry really struck a chord in my heart. No other guy cared about me that way. You see, He cared about me before we even met. Is it any wonder that I did fall in love?

Recently we celebrated 30 years of marriage. To this day, he is the one looking out for me. I was thinking about that, and how special he is when I saw the above photo on FaceBook today. We have been married for 30 years, but we met 10 years before that. We dated off and on for about 7 years. Then I fell totally in love with him, and 3 years later we married. From the time I fell totally in love, until the day we married, we did not live in the same town! It was truly a joyous occasion. We are still committed to each other, and our faith in each other and in God continues to grow.

And before you infer all kinds of things about the photos of the presidents at the top, keep in mind that the umbrella reminded me of my husband. Actually none of them are doing what my husband did then or does now. Perhaps this photo would have been better.

I am blessed beyond measure. My dear man with the umbrella cares for me in countless ways; and I for him.

The song James Taylor sings in the video below was the very first song James Taylor sang the night of the concert, the night of our first date.

About Kate Kresse

I love to write, I love to talk, I love to uplift people when I can. I am a woman in love with life. I am a wife, mom, tutor, writer, and I am a perennial optimist. (OK not every single minute but you get the point! :-)
This entry was posted in Family Life and Issues and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to An umbrella can tell you a lot about a fella

  1. auntyuta says:

    Happy Anniversary, dear Kate. Wishing you and your husband many more happy years together.

  2. mlissabeth says:

    I hope you had a wonderful day!

  3. dorannrule says:

    Congratulations on your 30th Kate! You are both so lucky to have each other. 🙂

  4. phylor says:

    Kate: I’ve really had to cut back on computer time, so I must apologize for not dropping by. A very appropriate post to read!
    For me, it was love at first sight (before I would have dismissed it as just too soap opera) from the moment I was introduced (mutual friend) because his eyes smiled too. We do disagree on the exact date!
    We started seeing each other in 1982; we moved back easy in 1984 and married in 1995.
    So congratulations on the 30th anniversary. I like the umbrella idea! How sweet. We were living in the very wet west coast, but I don’t think hubby possessed an umbrella.

    • Kate Kresse says:

      no worries—my student load made me have to cut back too! i am happy to “see” you any time you stop by! Your story sounds so lovely and romantic. I know what you mean about smiling eyes….

Leave a Reply

