A bag of tools

We are each given a unique set of gifts and talents. What we do with them either becomes part of the problems of the world, or part of the solution, don’t they? I don’t really stop and think about the reality of that statement throughout the day. But at this point in the year it does give me pause. You see, my students take their finals right before Memorial Day. Then some of them take the summer off from tutoring. Others continue during the summer. But either way the immediacy of the tutoring tasks, and the urgency of it do change. Sometimes they are just going through the motions in the summer. Quite frankly, we ALL have days/weeks/months when we are just going through the motions. I came across this poem by R.L. Sharpe that re-focused me today. I wanted to share it with you.

A Bag of Tools – by R. L. Sharpe

Isn’t it strange
that princes and kings,
And clowns that caper
In sawdust rings,
And common people
Like you and me
Are builders for eternity?

Each is given a bag of tools,
A shapeless mass,
A book of rules;
And each must make–
Ere life is flown–
A stumbling block
Or a stepping stone.

About Kate Kresse

I love to write, I love to talk, I love to uplift people when I can. I am a woman in love with life. I am a wife, mom, tutor, writer, and I am a perennial optimist. (OK not every single minute but you get the point! :-)
This entry was posted in faith/courage/miracles/hope and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to A bag of tools

  1. Lucid Gypsy says:

    Right now I have a stumbling block that I’m trying to turn into a stepping stone, thanks Kate.

    • Kate Kresse says:

      I know you will find a way. Sometimes stepping back from it for awhile helps you see either a way to climb over it, or a path around it. Peace to you, gilly.

  2. jaels says:

    I, too, am working with The Carpenter and Mason–He’s promised to turn it all to my good, and His glory! God bless you, Kate.

  3. Love this Kate. hugs, Renee 🙂

  4. dorannrule says:

    I think you must be a very inspiring teacher! 🙂

Leave a Reply

