Big Chill/Love Story

There was a movie called The Big Chill. It was about the baby boomers as they have moved into middle age. There were parts I loved, and many parts that I did not. There was cynicism and compromised dreams. But during the movie there was a memorable pasta dinner. It was one of those wondrous dinners with friends when people came together and recaptured the loving times of the past in wonderful nostalgic story telling. Now I don’t know about you, but when I get together with friends and family, I cherish moments like that. You see, recapturing treasured memories are stepping stones to my future. they give me strength for my journey.

Perhaps it is because I have moved so many times that I have heightened remembrance of joyous times of the past, and fully enjoy spending time with old friends, old cousins, etc. Those times bolster me and keep me in touch with the me that is inside. The me that I at times overlook because on a daily basis I am “taking care of business”. It is funny to think about the fact that sometimes I forget about some of the “pieces of myself”.

My husband and I are lucky. We have known each other for 40 years now. We met in college, but did not get serious until a few years before we married. We had growing up to do first! But boy, when we fell in love, the commitment was total. He is my mainstay in this world, and I love him. I am so lucky that he and I are committed to each other, and that God is the ever-present 3rd leg of our marriage stool. God is present in our lives because we invite Him in every day.

It is true joy when we get to see old friends, family, and more. Why is that? There are pieces of Him in each of these people. to be together is positively electric! It is magic. It was magic when my husband and I fell in love, magic when we married, and continues to be magical even now. 30 years of marriage magic is what we recently celebrated.

Now, one of those magic moments is coming up for us. My dear brother-in-law Bill fell in love and is to marry the wondrous Erin. How fabulous it will be to be there for their wedding. My husband is a member of the wedding party, as are many other members of the clan. Tears of joy will flow that day as we witness their marriage and then will continue to watch their marriage grow over the ensuing decades. I thought you might want to see this video of them. A true love story! You may want to grab some tissues. Their love story, and my husband’s and mine as well, are so much more real, beautiful, and romantic than ANYTHING Hollywood could produce. so grab some tissues and watch the video.

 

About Kate Kresse

I love to write, I love to talk, I love to uplift people when I can. I am a woman in love with life. I am a wife, mom, tutor, writer, and I am a perennial optimist. (OK not every single minute but you get the point! :-)
This entry was posted in Family Life and Issues. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Big Chill/Love Story

  1. gwen07 says:

    Love this – đŸ™‚

  2. Hello my friend. I did read this beautiful post last week and watched the adorable video with a big smile on my face. I wanted to comment and somehow managed to get side tracked. How are you? I hope you are doing well. Have a fabulous day my friend and am sending you big hugs. Renee đŸ™‚

    • Kate Kresse says:

      I have been reading your posts—but between fighting bronchitis and trying to help my students the best I can I have been wiped out! Today I spent most of the day sleeping and I feel like I am starting to turn the corner. I am going to have a wonderful weekend. I helped my son edit his book the past few weeks, and he published it yesterday. Life is a joy my friend. hugs!

      • Hello Kate. I hope you are starting to feel much better. Bronchitis! yikes! I had that many years ago. Sleep is good for our health, especially when sick. I am sending you get well wishes. It was great to hear you are feeling like you are ‘starting to turn the corner’.
        It is so nice that you are able to edit your son’s book. What a lucky guy! I am sure he knows what a wonderful Mom he has.
        hugs and smiles. Renee

Leave a Reply

