What are you planting this spring?

“Every moment and every event of every man’s life on earth plants something in his soul”. ~ Thomas Merton. The significance of what Merton wrote is the word every. Every  moment and event plants something. Nothing is inconsequential. It all matters and connects. Perhaps that thought can help us through the mundane and irritating moments. Perhaps knowing that some kind of growth comes from every moment’s seed will help us raise our heads a bit higher.

Spring is lovely here in Arizona. The spring trees burst forth in color. Sunshine is everywhere. The air is fresh and warm, but not oppressively hot. My students have spring fever and are really ready for summer vacation. I am ready for summer, too. We are months from the academic finish line. I am sure there are days and seasons when perhaps you would like to hand off the baton to someone else. But despite the fact that we are joined together in community, our races are individual races, not relays. We can have a pit crew, and fans to cheer us on. But only you can run your actual race.

In my spring fever mode I can see that if I allow the mood to continue, rather than harvesting dedication, I will be harvesting impatience and laziness. Each thing we grow, in turn, spreads seeds. That is the significance of Merton’s statement. So today, rather than write and blog for hours, I must get some cleaning done and finish a report. I will be back. But today, I am planting dedication so that I do not harvest clutter. Other times I have to plant relaxation so that I harvest balance. But lately, the balance has swung too far and laziness and clutter are appearing like weeds. It is time to yank the weeds and plant new seeds. Have a lovely, lovely day. We have many harvests throughout the year. Different seeds grow at different rates. How does your analogous garden grow? Mine could use some work!

 

About Kate Kresse

I love to write, I love to talk, I love to uplift people when I can. I am a woman in love with life. I am a wife, mom, tutor, writer, and I am a perennial optimist. (OK not every single minute but you get the point! :-)
This entry was posted in faith/courage/miracles/hope and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to What are you planting this spring?

  1. I love the whole metaphor of this wonderful post!

  2. auntyuta says:

    If the last picture is a picture of your garden, I must say I could publish a similar picture of our garden right now. Our garden could definitely use some work! Peter and I are not very consistent as far as gardening work is concerned.
    I get much inspiration from your post. It tells me I should use my time wisely. Every moment somehow counts . . . . After a job well done I can sit back and relax. And just doing the job can be joyful and relaxing too. But when I get too tired it’s important to be able to take some time out and just enjoy the feeling that I did do a good job. Today it rained quite a bit. This is why I didn’t do my washing as planned. I hope I can do it tomorrow instead. It’s good to be able to dry the washing outside because we do not have a dryer.

  3. Lucid Gypsy says:

    A lovely post Kate!

  4. gwen07 says:

    I am going to upload a pic from FB – but if I could do this ….

  5. Ah, this is a great one, Kate, and much needed here!
    My weed seeds grow far faster than my tender hybrids. I think partly that is because the slow-growing weeds became extinct due to quick weeding. I hope it. However, now, I MUST be quick to get those tough survivors.
    Trouble is, the last two years have been too hot to work outdoors. We would keep giving it all a lick and a promise, hoping for better weather. 120 degrees in the shade is about 180 in the sun, I think. This spring has been better, but now my choice is to do weeding in 40 degree rain, also not good for the health. Sighs.
    However, today holds promise for warmth and no rain. The ground is soft and workable, and I have several daylilies that need to be planted, plus some peonies. The beet babies are sprouted. And believe it or not, the borage is putting on flower buds — borage is for courage. 🙂
    It’s time!!!

  6. TBM says:

    Wonderful Kate. I wish you luck!

  7. Mike Fisk says:

    Thanks Kate! God Bless

Leave a Reply

