Did Dorothy choose wisely? what about Scarecrow?

 Remember how much Dorothy wanted to go home in the Wizard of Oz? She was surrounded by gorgeous color, devoted friends, amazing adventures, but she had a constant quest. She just wanted to go home to Auntie Em and Uncle Henry. Why was that her quest, I sometimes wondered. I confess I was in love with Scarecrow and Lion. They were so cool. They doted on her and protected her. They appealed to the independent streak within me. I really wanted her to stay in Oz and marry Scarecrow. I, on the other hand, wanted to be Glinda and travel around in a magic bubble.

But I have a dichotomy. I too want to be with those I love. Remember in Jerry Maguire when Maguire realizes that all of his (and his newfound client’s) success mean nothing if he doesn’t have his beloved along to share his experience? It is too one way, even for the self-obsessed Jerry Maguire. So he heads to her side and expresses that she completes him. Of course, this too is self-obsessed, isn’t it? Does he say that life means more if they complete each other? Nope. So you know that he has much to learn.

Dorothy, on the other hand, awakens back in Kansas in her black and white world. She tells them where she has been, and realizes with complete amazement that the farm hands and Professor Marvel had been there with her in Oz. She says there is no place like home. She is correct. All that she needed to feel safe, loved, and joyous had been right there with her. It was with her no matter where she went. I am guessing, that if we had seen a picture on the wall of Auntie Em in her younger days, that she looked exactly like Glinda. And what of Uncle Henry? He was probably off camera in Oz, his hands behind his be-capped head, and his feet up on the porch rail while sitting in his chair. He no doubt had a bemused look on his face, as Dorothy gradually found her way home. No place like home. Dorothy brought the most important parts of Oz right back home with her to Kansas. And except for Auntie Em and Uncle Henry, she brought Kansas with her to Oz. [But they were with her in her heart regardless].

Maybe she will still marry Scarecrow… or Lion?  How can you not love those guys. Sorry Tin Man–my heart fell for the other 2.

About Kate Kresse

I love to write, I love to talk, I love to uplift people when I can. I am a woman in love with life. I am a wife, mom, tutor, writer, and I am a perennial optimist. (OK not every single minute but you get the point! :-)
This entry was posted in faith/courage/miracles/hope and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Did Dorothy choose wisely? what about Scarecrow?

  1. auntyuta says:

    Poignant! I often wonder too where my true home is.
    “But I have a dichotomy. I too want to be with those I love.”
    I think I know this feeling. Thanks for this post, Kate. Have a lovely Easter!

  2. Nothing like a bit of optimism to make my day! 🙂 Thanks!

  3. gwen07 says:

    This movie always frightened me when I was younger but after living and maturing and many viewings I came to see the flying monkeys, the ‘bad’ witch and that old ‘fake,’ OZ as people I’ve known – which is Baum’s point – one carries all the happiness and sadness within wherever h/she goes. Years ago I took some high school student’s to see WICKED (a play sympathetic to the wicked sister witch) on Broadway and one young woman who had no ticket but managed to get on the bus ??? I was distraught because I could not leave this young girl out on a NYC street while 60 others were inside watching the play. But then, as I handed out tickets -I am not kidding – I was left with an extra ticket – I was dumbfounded to say the least. I gave the ticket to this forlorn young woman who, at intermission sat stone-still with tears rolling down her cheeks, so happy and transformed was she at this magical, wonderful play. I suspect she always felt like the ‘bad’ witch but the play offered her hope. I have seen her since sing beautifully in public, get her life on track, and seemingly come to an understanding of her life and purpose. I’d like to think it was the play… 🙂

  4. I have found that home is where God makes it. He can make any place home.

Leave a Reply

