Bridges and baskets

Bridges help us get across troubled waters. They provide a great view, and can be a little intimidating. Life is like that, too. Here we are, inching closer to Easter. We may be ready to collapse. We may be  in that wondrous mindset that comes with spring. Early spring is the bridge to late spring and that is the bridge to summer. We reflect. We ponder. We resolve. But here we are — in almost suspended animation.  I will move forward to it with anticipation. I am a bit in the grip of spring fever. I know my students are, too.

In life, we do not get to see the potential outcome of our decision so that we are less hesitant to make a choice and launch. We must step forward boldly, holding hands with God, not knowing the outcome, only knowing His guidance. In looking back over the last year, I know that is how I have lived. How do I get courageous? I will tell you. Some of the best things in this world were done by people who were scared but moved forward anyway.

We have always heard not to put all our eggs in one basket. Is that true? I see my life stretching before me. There are hills and valleys. There are streams, gravel covered paths that could be treacherous, gorgeous meadows, and forests filled with chirping birds and His peaceful voice. All of life urges me “walk on, walk on, with hope in your heart and you’ll never walk alone”. As Easter approaches I continue to follow the One  who makes everything possible. The one who fills my nets with fish. He does it just when I am ready to despair that they could ever be filled again.

You see, sometimes our hearts break when life disappoints us. For awhile it can color our thinking, and make us sad, too. To be analogous; on days like that, I sit kind of shell-shocked, in my boat, sadly holding my empty net. I feel as though I am “all fished out”. I cry. I wonder why I thought I could fish. I see other fishermen coming in, their nets laden with fish. No, I don’t feel jealous. It is a different emotion. It is not a comparison thing. It is more a wondering why I fell short of how I thought it would be, given my dedication or devotion or whatever.  At those times, I am wondering why; I expected to have fish. Instead I don’t.

Then it happens…..I look up. And there He is. My Shepherd. He is walking to my boat, climbing in….He sits down, looks me in the eye and says, “my daughter, row back out. Begin again. Cast your nets back in”. And although my heart aches with sorrow, I know that when I have the strength to row back out, He will still be in my boat. And when I cast my nets in, He will smile. The fish will come. And He will smile. He will smile at me, and I will smile tremulously. The past loss and sorrow will eventually dissolve like dry ice on a Phoenix driveway in July.

Regardless of what is headed my way~it comforts me and fills me with joy that I have so many simple blessings in my life.  Today will be wonderful and tomorrow begins a new chapter; I am, as ever, a perennial optimist. May our lives continue to be a beautiful overflowing basket of blessings.

About Kate Kresse

I love to write, I love to talk, I love to uplift people when I can. I am a woman in love with life. I am a wife, mom, tutor, writer, and I am a perennial optimist. (OK not every single minute but you get the point! :-)
This entry was posted in faith/courage/miracles/hope and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Bridges and baskets

  1. You wrote this just for me, right?

Leave a Reply

