Teach me to fly, Lord

“When God pushes you to the edge, trust Him fully, because only two things can happen. Either He will catch you when you fall or He will teach you how to fly”.

I really love that quote. Yes I love it because He either catches me or teaches me how to fly. But I also noticed something else about that quote. I have often assumed that those moments when I have found myself at the edge were just arbitrary happenstance. Of course, in reading that quote I noticed the part about “God pushing you to the edge”. Now I don’t think of that as a cruel or manipulative thing. Far from it. In this quote He is more like a personal trainer that is helping you to get fit.

When you sign on with a trainer, the trainer may shout or prod. The trainer may “make” you do 10 extra push-ups, or run longer on the treadmill, or some other form of exercise. Again, the trainer does not do that to be cruel. He/she does it because he/she knows it will make you stronger and healthier. Physical muscle and stamina does not just fall on us like rain. It is earned through sweat, work, and repetition.

So, too, will our spiritual muscle grow through reaching out for Him during challenging times. He may push us or prod us to that point. As we grow in maturity we are willing, even eager, to be led to the edge where we leap to Him. Indeed, we leap off the dock toward the lake of His love. We will be wrapped in His arms, and swim out to that distant dock. We will frolic and rejoice.

Ultimately, in moments of great joy, we do indeed fly, don’t we? Have you ever felt either so very happy or so relieved that you almost feel like you are flying? That moment when you feel like you could skip down the street laughing? Sometimes, after trying times, when I feel as though I am flying [with Him as the wind beneath my wings, of course] I feel the urge to do something I loved to do as a young girl. I would skip around my back yard until I was running. Then I would stand in the middle of the yard with my arms outstretched and spin, and spin, and spin……until I toppled over onto my back. I would laugh heartily as the earth appeared to tip back and forth. I felt like the sky was grabbing the lawn, and the lawn grabbing the sky.

What a sensation that was…..to be unencumbered….so when I feel that urge to leap to Him and am rewarded, time and again, by the sensation of Him catching me with sure hands……well, I am rejoicing, indeed. May today bring you spinning, skipping, leaping, rejoicing, and flying. If you are downhearted, discouraged, or just in the doldrums…..maybe it would be a good day to skip…..really, really fast…..

About Kate Kresse

I love to write, I love to talk, I love to uplift people when I can. I am a woman in love with life. I am a wife, mom, tutor, writer, and I am a perennial optimist. (OK not every single minute but you get the point! :-)
This entry was posted in faith/courage/miracles/hope and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

