Whistling Once Again–774 days

I began this blog at the behest of my friend Dana. Shortly after Christmas in 2010, I was stricken with Bell’s Palsy. The right half of my face became paralyzed. Gradually some of it came back, but some of it did not. For months and months I had to tape my right eye shut at bedtime so that my cornea would not dry out. My eye could not blink or stay closed on its own. Months went by and physical therapy only did a little bit of good.

I have always been a big smiler. But you see, my smile was now lopsided. Only the left half of my mouth could smile. It dragged on my heart. But do you know what I missed most of all? Whistling. For the life of me, I could not whistle. I could not pucker, I could not even whistle if I held my face in a whistle-y shape. I had always been one to whistle while I worked. I would whistle a tune sometimes when I walked, or did chores. It was a happy sound, and oh how i missed it.

I got the happy whistling thing from my daddy. He was one to whistle a happy tune any old time. He. too, got Bell’s Palsy many many years ago. After a number of years, he got his whistle back. He cherished that so very much in his remaining years.

Well, yesterday it happened. I was talking to my son after my tutoring and my walk. All of a sudden, for the first time in months, I decided to try to whistle. By golly, I could. I was so startled that I had to stop and try a number of times. Now, eventually, I had to grasp my lips a teensy bit to hold the pucker. But I could do it.

Today I was working on some paperwork and I tried it again. Each time I can whistle more of a tune. Oh, yeah ~~

I can whistle —doing a happy dance!!!

About Kate Kresse

I love to write, I love to talk, I love to uplift people when I can. I am a woman in love with life. I am a wife, mom, tutor, writer, and I am a perennial optimist. (OK not every single minute but you get the point! :-)
This entry was posted in Health and exercise and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to Whistling Once Again–774 days

  1. Linda says:

    Oh, Kate! I am so happy to hear this! You have endured so much! I love your smile, lopsided, upside down, sideways – it is a perfect smile! And you are a perfect love and dear friend! God bless you for being just who you are! AND for being able to whistle again! 🙂

  2. reneeboomer says:

    awe Kate. YOU can whistle! Totally, totally wonderful. AND! YOU went for a walk. I am cheering you on and smiling right beside you. I will share something with you, I can’t whistle and there is no reason for it. ha ha. Too funny. Have a great weekend. hugs.. Renee 🙂

    • Kate Kresse says:

      So fun to have my whistle back. As it was, I rejoiced when I could blink without the tape. That was just a few months after I got Bell’s Palsy. AND at that point I lost the dizziness too! So the whistle is a truly happy bonus…..I put that in God’s hands way back then and said that as long as I could close my eye and keep my vision, I was cool with that. Now when I say whistle I mean purse my lips kind of whistle. NOT put my fingers in my mouth and whistle. That kind, I could never do!! Thanks renee—hugs back!

  3. Julie Church says:

    Congratulations! I am glad you got your whistle back and I bet those around you are glad too, because now they are able to listen once again to your happy tune! My dad was a whistler and so is my husband, as a kid I enjoyed listening to my dad and now when the weather is warm during the summer months, my husband.
    Happy whistling!

    • Kate Kresse says:

      Thanks, Julie. I remember my dad whistling show tunes and all kinds of things. I whistle when I iron or dust or sew or walk……not continuously, but definitely when i am in a happy mood. It is just fun to be able to do it again!!

  4. So happy for you! I whistle while i work, too, and while I walk in the woods, I love to whistle classical music just to see what the birds will do.
    Mostly, they fly away. 😆

  5. misswhiplash says:

    I never realised you had so many problems, but let us say this, a loopy smile is a great characteristic and a wonky eye always ready to blink is another one…..but to lose your whistle that must be a disaster, and I know how you feel. I could whistle until I had my new teeth, now I can’t so I sing instead……

    • Kate Kresse says:

      aw i bet you miss whistling!!! it is such a happy feeling. i got the blink back a few months after i got Bells. I always told God if that was the only thing i got back i could live with it. so i was VERY surprised to be able to whistle. bet the singing is still a good feeling>

  6. misswhiplash says:

    forgot to say…congratulations on your new whistle

  7. gwen07 says:

    Kate, congratulations of finding your whistle – it was always there I suppose, waiting for you to grab it off that shelf. I envy you. I could never whistle – and I spent a a lot of time wishing I could whistle loud and commanding – you know, the two fingers in the mouth and forcing the air over the tongue and through the lips kind of whistle. I am sure that is the reason for my beloved NY Mets’ losing seasons. In any case, glad you got your whistle back. :L

    • Kate Kresse says:

      oooh i cannot do that kind of whistle. just whistle some tunes and songs. i can’t quite do a whole song again yet. BUT I can whistle enough to make me smile!!!!! Thanks, Gwen!!!

  8. Happy you got your whistle back. Now you can whistle while you work! 😉 I know you were joyful no matter what, but getting to whistle again must be giving you great joy. Whistle a happy tune, Kate!

  9. dorannrule says:

    Hurrah and Congratulations Kate! I know it is devastating to lose any single body capability . I never thought about losing the capacity to whistle but I know I would feel just as badly as you did. My Mom had Bells Palsy so I also know how that goes – a long road to a perfect smile. I am so happy for you to have recovered. 🙂

    • Kate Kresse says:

      Aw thanks for “getting it” Dor. It was quite a lesson making this Bell’s journey. I had no idea that i was a bit vain….until my face went goofy. It is much better than it was…..and no the bonus of a whistle….thanks my friend

    • Kate Kresse says:

      thanks Cee—i know you understand physical gains and losses, progress and setbacks. until there is some progress you don’t necessarily fully understand how badly you feel about what was lost…..

  10. P.S. LOVE the new background photo you have up! Where is it?

Leave a Reply

