Remember the Humble Carrot (part 2 of 2)

In my last post I started talking about spunk. I mentioned Spunk Transplants. By that I mean helping my students find their “inner spunk”. I believe that we are each hardwired to have a well of spunk to draw upon in those thirsty times.

When I think of spunk, I think of that famous scene from the Mary Tyler Moore Show, when Mr. Grant says to Mary “ you’ve got spunk”.  She nods happily and says “Yes”. He says gruffly, “I hate spunk”. Now, when you have your spunk on, the world may react that way. But guess what? They don’t REALLY hate spunk. They might hate being reminded just how fun spunky can be. Their wells may have run dry. Replenish them. Make them laugh because of the joy that your spunk creates.

Believe me, spunk is fun. It is a blast. When I think of spunk, I think of Anne of Green Gables.

Those of you familiar with the series will know what I mean. She was forthright, fun, and leaped before she looked, oh so many times. She did not believe in limits. She believed in grand ideas, hopes, beauty and so much more. There were times when she mouthed off to her competitor, Gilbert. She broke her little slate over his head because he called her “Carrots” – because of her red hair.

Oh that made her angry! But I got to thinking. Her red hair aside, Carrots is an apt nickname for anyone with spunk. You see, Carrots grow in 2 directions. The best part is the part that comes at harvest. While the greens have flourished above ground, the delicious carrot has continued to grow and thrive underground. We do not see the full accomplishment until harvest time. Harvest time is a recurring event in our lives. We must remember, as the saying goes, that “Success is not always what you see”.

May today be filled with spunk, and remember that in our own ways, our character and growth are like the humble carrot.

About Kate Kresse

I love to write, I love to talk, I love to uplift people when I can. I am a woman in love with life. I am a wife, mom, tutor, writer, and I am a perennial optimist. (OK not every single minute but you get the point! :-)
This entry was posted in faith/courage/miracles/hope and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Remember the Humble Carrot (part 2 of 2)

  1. Interesting.
    We have learned from experience, that when something eats the top off a carrot, it keeps growing, but grows bitter.
    Do you think that might also apply? 😉

  2. Caddo Veil says:

    I can’t say I’m much for carrots–but I’ve got spunk, alright!!

  3. diggingher says:

    Great way to wake up thinking! I’ve got enough spunk for a few extras so bring em on.

Leave a Reply

