Remember the Humble Carrot (Part 1 of 2)

I woke up this morning thinking about spunk. What is spunk? Spunk is having your “game on”. It is stepping out there on the stage that is your life, even if you are in the grips of stage fright.

 It is raising your hand at a meeting or in a group and being willing to pitch your ideas, or lead, or join. It is refusing to be intimidated when you have an attack of the “shys”. It is realizing that just putting yourself out there is empowering enough. It is doing so even if people might make fun of you or minimize you. It is refusing to believe that it is too scary to try. As a matter of fact, “you/f you have a day when you feel spunky, it does not even occur to you to be scared!

I have had times like that, certainly in my 20s when I was fresh on the corporate scene and eager to “climb that ladder”. These days, my spunk takes other forms. I try to give the students that need it, a Spunk Transplant. You see, we can indeed be our own worst enemies. sometimes we are afraid of success ~ because expectations change. You succeed big once, and others come to expect it of you all the time, right?

BUT, I ask you, what is wrong with others discovering just how much you really are capable of? If you hide your light under a bushel basket, the world gets darker.

ENOUGH with adding to the darkness. You do not gain safety by holding back. You may gain anonymity, but all that does is take you to your lesser self. Don’t trade anonymity for greatness. Some day I will share about a time in my life when I tried that hat on. In my next post I will explain what all of this has to do with carrots.

About Kate Kresse

I love to write, I love to talk, I love to uplift people when I can. I am a woman in love with life. I am a wife, mom, tutor, writer, and I am a perennial optimist. (OK not every single minute but you get the point! :-)
This entry was posted in faith/courage/miracles/hope and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Remember the Humble Carrot (Part 1 of 2)

  1. I love the word ‘spunk’. It sounds like something Pippi Longstocking would say! (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pippi_Longstocking).
    Great post, Kate!

  2. reneeboomer says:

    You always inspire me Kate. Thank-you. I remember “Pippi Longstocking”. Have a great day. 🙂 Renee hugs. ♥

  3. Caddo Veil says:

    I think that’s a heck of an excellent point, Kate–clinging to anonymity only takes us to our “lesser self”. Guess that’s why I am enjoying my growing boldness with God, becoming more transparent everyday–I don’t ever want to hide my Light again. Thanks for always encouraging us–God bless you BIG–love, sis Caddo

    • Kate Kresse says:

      Always shine that light of yours Caddo. Your joyous and steadfast example continues to make you God’s lighthouse for folks to see and be comforted by!! love you right back—sis Kate

Leave a Reply

