An utterly charming man

My first encounter with a celebrity occurred when i was in London while I was in college. My friend and I had purchased discount tickets to see the play Harvey starring Jimmy Stewart.

 

The play was terrific and so was he. After the play we went out of the theater and to the side door entrance where the actors go in and out. We thought we’d be able to sweet talk our way in and go to Jimmy Stewart’s dressing room. But…no such luck! We stood around outside near the side door. Eventually Jimmy Stewart actually came out, talked to us and signed our programs. He even shook our hands and talked to us for awhile. Oh, he was so very nice. Then his driver pulled up. Magically, the door opened — although no one (that we could see, anyway) was touching the door.

Jimmy looked up from the program he was signing, cocked his head and looked towards the car…”oh, what’s that, Harvey” he paused. cocked his head again and said “oh, you want to go down to the pub for a drink? Well alright then” and then he smiled, nodded and said “thank you so much for coming. My dear friend Harvey and I are off to have a drink now”. We all thanked him, he got in the door, it closed….and off they went.

Utterly charming, and an incredibly clever departure. Sometimes you have an experience that motivates you to be disarmingly kind and considerate. This was one of those moments. You see, we can each be heartwarming and genuinely gracious. I plan to do that the next few days as a sweet little experiment. I plan to be extra sweet and kind ~ as if we lived in the “old days” where men tipped their hats when they saw a lady. When ladies chatted kindly on the porch with the neighbors.

You see, I have a theory. If we start acting as though we live in a kind and considerate time, when people wanted to be kind, welcoming, and considerate ~ and as a rule of thumb did not behave coarsely, or verbally attack….Well, if we act as though this was a kind age, it can become a kind age.

Anyway ~ my plan, as I head about a work day that will be even busier than usual, is to search for ways to be “old fashioned- kind”. Have a lovely day, dear friends.

About Kate Kresse

I love to write, I love to talk, I love to uplift people when I can. I am a woman in love with life. I am a wife, mom, tutor, writer, and I am a perennial optimist. (OK not every single minute but you get the point! :-)
This entry was posted in faith/courage/miracles/hope and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to An utterly charming man

  1. fgassette says:

    Reminds me of a quote by Henry Burton, Pass It On “Have you had a kindness shown? Pass it on; ‘Twas not given for thee alone, Pass it on; Let it travel down the years, Let it wipe another’s tears, ‘Till in Heaven the deed appears — Pass it on.” Thank you for sharing this wonderful memory. Jimmy Stewart is from my state of Pennsylvania in the nearby city of Indiana.

    BE ENCOURAGED! BE BLESSED!

  2. misswhiplash says:

    good morning to you dear Kate.I hope that your day at work was enjoyable and that ‘experiment’ with being kind to everyone worked well. Actiually I cannot imagine that you would not be kind and polite normally but it would be nice if someone noticed. Your post today is oalong the same lines as Grandmalin who is writing that if we all lead peaceful lives then eventually our lives will be peace.
    Wouldn’t it be wonderful to have a ‘ Be every nice to everyone’ day

    • Kate Kresse says:

      You know what? When I stopped at the grocery store, the lines were long. but then they opened a lane just for me :-). I thanked them profusely! I love what you said about leading peaceful lives. Perfect!

  3. Kate, with this post, you’ve started your experiment well! I think I’ll try too…
    Love,
    Maria

    • Kate Kresse says:

      How did your experiment go, Maria.

      • I must admit that I can’t “believe anyway” – that is, in the success of this experiment. The world won’t be changed, though we can be His servants to deliver others out of this present evil age – that is, to touch a few with old-fashioned civility, refinement, and courtesy, which are actually His law of love.
        Though I don’t believe the world can be changed – even by our Kate’s faith, I do believe in Kate, and know that He has formed you to “believe anyway.” It is His Spirit in you, making you who you are, our dear sister who has faith for the impossible. I pray you are doing well, walking as you do in love!

        • Kate Kresse says:

          oh but you proved my point sweet maria!!!!you see if one tiny thing changes, it has changed. maybe not enough that it is noticeable to all—–but if you add one drop to the ocean it is one drop bigger. all we can do is bring our tiny little eyedroppers. it makes a difference……we can outrun the crabby-pants of the world. THEY are weighed down. we may stumble—but we change it….the world is made up of a chain of folks. we cannot change them all. we cannot change everyone. but we can change a few. that is our clarion call. With your gift for writing, and your reaching out to so many….you change those folks. they are in turn changed. then they deal differently. then those they encounter deal differently. and those that THEY encounter deal differently….and on and on it goes…..you are WAYYYYYYYYYYY powerful through the source of eternal power. hugs to you

  4. Good morning to you, Kate!

    I am so sorry I’ve been so absent from your comment section! I’ve decided that instead of Internet, what I have is Intermittentnet. 🙂
    Anyway, I’m at the library and clicking right along.
    We always have loved anything James Stewart did, his calm manner always seemed to shine through, no matter the character he had to play.
    Thanks for sharing this lovely interlude.

    My best to you.
    Kathy

  5. Caddo Veil says:

    Oh, that this would truly work a miracle. God bless you, Kate–love, sis Caddo

  6. An excellent thought! We do have the ability to separate from the current culture of “me, and only me” and spread kindness and others’ needs in our forefront. What a difference that would make! 🙂

  7. territerri says:

    That’s a fabulous idea. I’d love to see others play off of your idea and let the kindness spread like wildfire!

    • Kate Kresse says:

      Terri~ Thanks so much! I know so mandy people that strive to give more than they take, love more than they judge. Today I refuse to believe that the world will not change and improve!!

  8. dorannrule says:

    What a lovely experience you had meeting Jimmy Stewart. I am so glad he was as kind as he seemed in the movies. And I like your new plan to spread that attitude around too. 🙂

  9. reneeboomer says:

    Another beautiful post. Always admired Jimmy Stewart. Kindness goes such a long way. My Hubby and I often say “if only more people would just be kind”. Have a fabulous week my friend. hugs Renee. 🙂 ♥

    • Kate Kresse says:

      Oh I did too. From Harvey to Its a Wonderful life to oh so many other movies to his guest appearances on Carson…..a very classy guy. hugs to you too sweet Renee. hugs right back to you.

Leave a Reply

