Here is a way to gain perspective!

img_1363FallArchesNatlParkKLCBHow can I gain perspective? Yes, of course I can de-clutter, organize my time, write, blog, and exercise. I can focus on what is important and let the rest go. We all know that. What are other ways to gain a realistic perspective? We can each look over the past years, year, week, or even day with true and loving eyes. I am betting that if you sat down with a notebook and pen, or a voice recorder, or in front of your computer, you could come up with more than you realize.

Here is something I did with a student. We sat down with a pad of post-its. I had him tell me everything he could think of that was good or bad that he had done —every grade, every task, every kind or unkind thing.  We tried to cover it all in about 2 hours. Then we made two different arrangements of the post-its. You know, weighing the good and the bad. Then we talked about the “bads”—if something good or positive had been learned or gained, we wrote that on it. At that point it became a good. It moved to the good section.

When we were done, we counted the goods and counted the bads. We determined the percentage. We compared that to his favorite sports figures’ percentages. Of course his goods far surpassed theirs. We compared is percentages to the percentages of oscar or grammy nominations versus wins by his favorite performers. Again he surpassed.

That is what I call perspective. 

About Kate Kresse

I love to write, I love to talk, I love to uplift people when I can. I am a woman in love with life. I am a wife, mom, tutor, writer, and I am a perennial optimist. (OK not every single minute but you get the point! :-)
This entry was posted in Positive Thinking and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Here is a way to gain perspective!

  1. cissyblue says:

    How totally brilliant! Good work Miss Kate! I would say your students are very lucky indeed! 🙂

  2. Perspective. Weighing or comparing the good and the bad. Interesting. An evaluation is often necessary in life. An unexamined life is not worth living. I love your idea of perspective! 🙂

Leave a Reply

