Why I became a tutor: Maybe you would like to, too

There are many reasons that teachers and tutors give for teaching. Typical reasons include the joy of seeing students learn. While this is certainly the case for me as well, an even more important reason to me was to help students see that they are WAY more capable than teachers and peers have told them. I believe that failure in school is much more complicated than “I am smart” or “I am dumb”. Repeated failure and frustration convinces students that they are stupid. This belief imprisons them. I tutor and teach to empower students. Every step of the way I show them HOW to learn. We calmly discuss, back-and-forth, how to approach the problem or subject. By going through this exercise, the student begins to see proof that his/her new approach empowers them and makes excellence possible.

I see tutoring as a golden opportunity to start your own little school—and help students learn the material (of course), but learn also how to play to their own strengths even in subjects they may be weak in. You see, as little children (pre-school age) every child is curious and eager. By restoring students to this eagerness, they see that they are highly capable. It undoes some of the damage that so many schools and peers have brought on students that aren’t succeeding. My students do succeed—because I show them how they have it within themselves to succeed, and arming them with strategies. I have to tell you, each time a student reaches that level, it is like launching a rocket to the moon. Thrilling, overwhelming, rewarding, and far-reaching. Oh, don’t hesitate! Help people that feel like failures feel like winners. The world becomes a bit brighter with each new star, doesn’t it?

About Kate Kresse

I love to write, I love to talk, I love to uplift people when I can. I am a woman in love with life. I am a wife, mom, tutor, writer, and I am a perennial optimist. (OK not every single minute but you get the point! :-)
This entry was posted in education and career and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Why I became a tutor: Maybe you would like to, too

  1. Butch Dean says:

    You have a heart of love for others. Thanks for sharing.

  2. Lucid Gypsy says:

    I wish I’d been taught by someone like you!

  3. I am sure you learned this somewhere . . .
    How does one learn how to do this? Or is it born in?

    • Kate Kresse says:

      It’s funny you say that. In a sense I think it is at least partially born in. I was always teaching and caretaking. My mom said that when my little brothers came along, I was never for a minute jealous of the attention they got. They were my “little ones”. I always loved to teach, explain, share. It’s just how I was. I didn’t consider it a big deal. Instead, it was sheer joy.

  4. territerri says:

    One of my boys struggled throughout all of his years in school. It was so hard to see him begin to believe that he was not smart and even harder to see how this belief was enforced by some of his teachers. In the last of his high school years, he had a teacher/case worker whose attitude was much like yours. She kept pushing “her” kids every step of the way, all the while making sure they knew that she really liked them and believed in them. She made such a difference for my son and I believe made it possible for him to graduate. I wish there were more educators like you and her in the world.

    • Kate Kresse says:

      God bless that teacher. I wish that your son had not gone through that with those other teachers. i do pray that he continues to light up the world with renewed vigor. Thanks Terri. God bless you.

  5. I was a teacher for many years and think the “teacher” never leaves that role behind. But now it’s more intentionally directed to my granddaughters and making sure they have all the support they need to do well. It is so clear you feel very fulfilled in your role, and that’s such a confirmation that God is using your willingness and abilities. That’s a lovely way to discover purpose!

    • Kate Kresse says:

      You still teach, Debra. Every day. No matter what your title is, you are teaching, guiding, mentoring and loving. And you are right; it does give me purpose and motivation. I love seeing folks get stronger, better, and fly…..crayons to perfume.

  6. dorannrule says:

    This is such a noble effort Kate and you must be a terrific and inspiring teacher! 🙂

    • Kate Kresse says:

      Dor~ I try my best. It’s a little bit cajoling, a little bit cheering, a little bit hollering…..it leaves me breathless at times. I pray that my students become their BEST selves.

  7. reneeboomer says:

    Wow. You are an amazing heart. You can see through your writings that you truly are a ‘genuine heart’. What a fabulous tutor you are! These kids will remember you always. My grand kidlets have been blessed so far in elementary school and have had wonderful teachers. I pray it continues on into high school for them. 🙂

    • Kate Kresse says:

      Thanks so very much, Renee. You humbled me with your kind words. My students are a constant gift ~ and I pray each of their teachers will see that. What are your grand kidlets’ favorite subjects?

Leave a Reply

