Pastures? This is my pasture

The movie To Sir With Love has ALWAYS been a favorite of mine…. I had a Sir as a teacher…. I have written about him. Many years later, a sequel of the movie was made, called To Sir With Love II, starring once again, the ever-wonderful Sidney Poitier.I was thinking about that movie today. In the movie, Sir was pretty much forced to retire in England. An old friend of his was a principal at a high school in a rough neighborhood in Chicago. Sir went, and once again he changed hearts and lives. The kids asked him at the end of a very eventful school year if he was going to go back to London. He sagely looked at them and said, “I’ve been giving that a lot of thought. In London, you know, they put me out to pasture. I think maybe this is the pasture”. The students cheered, and the audience wept. Sir knew that he just HAD to continue trying to urge, boost, inspire, teach, and just BE Sir for them. He was not at a retirement age, or even if he was, he still had much to give.

Why was I thinking about that? I was reflecting upon the fact that I am already into my 4th year of tutoring for a terrific company called WyzAnt. (It is a nationwide tutoring company). God led me to this company. I had been in the midst of a fruitless job search. I was trying to re-enter corporate America. Corporate America found me wanting, despite my 2 bachelor’s degrees and an MBA and a number of years of corporate experience. You see, I had been home raising my son and managing a home for more than 2 decades. So corporate America thought I hadn’t been working…. what silly people. They had no idea.

Right before the job search I worked at our church training volunteers and other trainers in Safe Environment courses. I trained over 1,200 people…and created a tracking system to manage the paperwork and records.

So when corporate America couldn’t use me, and my husband’s job in peril, I needed to find something. God led me to WyzAnt, and it has been amazing. WyzAnt does all the advertising, and basically either the students (or their folks) pick me, or I post for an opening. God keeps my student count and tutoring at a constant level most of the time and ramps it up to the extreme every now and then. These past few days a few of my students have really been quite matter-of-fact about the inspiration I try to instill in them.  It thrills me to try to inspire my students to become all they can be. I am a born teacher—which is why I always loved being a manager, by the way.

One of my students told me Wednesday that he had recently failed a math test. He said, don’t worry almost the entire class failed it. I looked him square in the eyes and said, “my friend, that doesn’t cut it with me. You see, I don’t care if the whole class failed. I still want to help you to do great. Did you forget that God created you to be extraordinary”? He looked at me and grinned and said, “ok, if that’s the case, we had better get to work. I need a LOT of help”! I said “way to go—let’s learn it”.  Gosh I love to help them….

This week, God sent me 3 new students. I meet two of them on Friday morning and the other one next Wednesday. that always puts a spring in my step….new possibilities….. new kites to launch.

I think maybe,  I am living the dream, and THIS IS MY PASTURE…. {as Al Pacino would say…. HOOO…ah!} I am truly blessed. Sometimes I bite off more than I can chew ~ but the banquet is magnificent! Now here is my question ~ what is your pasture? In other words, is the way you are spending your time these days part of your wondrous pasture? I’d love to hear all about it!

About Kate Kresse

I love to write, I love to talk, I love to uplift people when I can. I am a woman in love with life. I am a wife, mom, tutor, writer, and I am a perennial optimist. (OK not every single minute but you get the point! :-)
This entry was posted in education and career and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Pastures? This is my pasture

  1. diggingher says:

    Kate,

    I am so touched by this post. I have never seen the movie but will keep my eye out for it.
    I have been reading a book I picked up to use in a mentoring relationship that has been challenging me to think about work in a different way. I do believe that just like you I have been placed by God in the incredible positioning am in. I am not too proud to say that at times I have lost sight of this fact. But our gracious Dad has been reminding me with every page I turn and now also your post.
    Thanks for sharing.

  2. Judy says:

    Thank you for encouraging me today!

  3. Caddo Veil says:

    I watched the movie again, earlier this week–always good. God bless you, Kate–love, sis Caddo

    • Kate Kresse says:

      Oh gosh I love both of the Sir movies……so amazing. I read earlier this week that the first one is based on a true story! It was an article written before the second one came out, so I don’t know if the 2nd was a true story or amazingly wonderful fiction. God bless you too, Caddo–love, sis Kate

Leave a Reply

