When Life Is Difficult

imagesLBIWalkway

I have been pondering the shifting sands of life lately. I have given a lot of thought to new directions and paths. I have come to realize, no I have come to remember something important about myself. Perhaps it is because I have moved quite a few times in my life. When things get all doldrum-y feeling, I become eager for change. When you relocate you get the chance to re-invent yourself.

Of course, we can do that even without relocating. This year I have done at least twice as much tutoring as in prior years. That means a whole lot more students get the chance to grow, learn, and improve. That is a very good thing, and for me it is an honor and a privilege. Of course, time is finite, and increased work hours means everything else gets less of my time and attention. That leaves me depleted. A depleted Kate is not a good thing.

I have been struggling like a horse fighting the bit in his mouth. I failed to realize that the bit is SO important. With the bit, he can be led up and down those treacherous mountain paths. So where is God leading me? Oh yes, He is leading me to serve more. Those students and their families have needs.

What about me? Ah ~ I think that here is the key. I need to FINALLY learn to apply one of my favorite lessons to myself. I tell my students to break impossible, burdensome tasks into smaller pieces. I tell them to get their study sessions into the size that fits their attention span. I, too, must learn to do the same. I must learn to manage my own time.

You see, it is easy to get things done when I have endless spans of time. Then I can lollygag and meander, and almost accidentally accomplish things like cleaning, filing, keeping track of things, de-cluttering, organizing, handling correspondence, errands.

It is easy to set aside time to blog, pray, exercise, and sing a little song when I have big stretches of free time. But as you know, when I have little free time it doesn’t happen. I am frozen like a deer in headlights.

SOOOOO…

My challenge to myself is to find ways to take advantage of SMALL chunks of time. To put it, as my mom has always said, “a good 20 minutes”. If I figure out a strategy for that this week, I may start pulling together a regular post about that each week.

What about you? Have you found a way to break tasks into 15-20 minute chunks? Let’s share those ideas today!

About Kate Kresse

I love to write, I love to talk, I love to uplift people when I can. I am a woman in love with life. I am a wife, mom, tutor, writer, and I am a perennial optimist. (OK not every single minute but you get the point! :-)
This entry was posted in Positive Thinking and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to When Life Is Difficult

  1. yes! this resonates with me, Kate….I’ve been trying to do the same thing with small chunks of time and just utilized a ten minute time frame (I organized my grocery coupons) when ordinarily I’d waste that ten minutes doing nothing.
    Imagine how much we can accomplish EACH DAY even if we only maximize 4 ten minute intervals!
    I find that idea very encouraging.
    Thank you for this post today. 🙂

  2. Lucid Gypsy says:

    I have far too many little chunks of things and I don’t do any of them well 😦

  3. auntyuta says:

    Yes, this resonates with me too, Kate. Thank you very much for this post. Looking forward to reading more of your posts!

  4. dogear6 says:

    I’ve taken the opposite approach. I’m so tired of non-stop busy, that when I get little chunks of time, I use them to relax, read, pray, or in some way just be quiet for a few minutes. I find I’m much more relaxed and less frantic by not feeling like I have to be busy all the time. My 25 cents is all this is – i.e., maybe you don’t need to worry about it.

    Nancy

  5. I am learning to be more realistic with my goals in the first place! I used to joke that I can be in two places at once, I just haven’t mastered being in three! I think part of breaking down goals into smaller bites is perhaps setting few goals in the first place. I constantly try to review and see what I can simplify. I don’t try to do everything in one day, but pick a few things that are necessary, and then take everything else and spread it over a week. I think we need to be kinder to ourselves. We have a lot pulling on our time and attention! It’s good to hear from your today. I have thought of you and hoped you were doing well. Sounds like you have a lot to juggle, but you’re asking the right questions!

    • Kate Kresse says:

      sometimes i forget that i don’t have to have a complete plan for the entire month. sometimes just laying out a couple of days will really suffice. Once I let go of planning every detail, oddly enough, every detail falls into place. thanks, debra—-and you are right. We need to remember to make a realistic things to do list!!! and let the rest go. sending hugs to you today~~

Leave a Reply

