Only He Can See : Epiphany

182671_10150186167644638_2179283_nCorrieTenBoomBoy it is hard to believe that sometimes, isn’t it? I don’t know if you know about Corrie Ten Boom. She survived a concentration camp as a young girl. so for her to say that is quite significant. For her to survive that makes anything I have gone through or will go through pale by comparison. Of course, life is not a game of comparing and measuring.

But God sure does put people in our path at just the right time. Sometimes we do not see it for years, the connections and interconnections are not necessarily obvious at all. But of course, since we just finished the Christmas season, we think about those things. Or at least I do. When you watch the movie It’s a Wonderful Life George Bailey gets the chance to see how different everyone’s lives would have been without him.

I know we all have days where we do not feel as though we make a difference or register a ripple with our little tiny stones. But of course, we are so wrong! Our miraculous yet little lives have meaning. As we march forward today and everyday, we can carry God’s message in our eyes, hearts, actions, words, prayers, hugs, and oh so many ways.

“At every moment, do what love requires”. 

When I was a young girl in school, besides the pledge of allegiance, we began each school day with a prayer. The prayer was called The Morning Offering prayer, and it was a way to dedicate ourselves to God each day. I was taught to make each day my prayer to God. Isn’t that a lovely concept? By doing this, it becomes more natural to take care of myself: eat properly, exercise, pray, be kind, be industrious, be unselfish, laugh, love, etc. What are we called to do? To be His hands and feet; to bring Him to each other. What we do each day is our gift to Him.

It is hard to be mindful of that at every moment. But today my prayer, hope, and goal is that in my moments and hours that I be mindful of Him, and how that should fuel my day and decisions so that I do not just run on automatic. Today is Epiphany. The wise men/kings/ magi brought gifts to the Baby Jesus.

Kates December 2011 photos 023

They journeyed home as changed men. They knew they had seen The Redeemer. We are not told what became of them, but we can guess. They were mindful and awestruck. They did not go tell Herod where Jesus was. We, too, are called to mindfulness. It is a virtue that can be in short supply– as our other responsibilities and interests cuse us to forget to be mindful.

About Kate Kresse

I love to write, I love to talk, I love to uplift people when I can. I am a woman in love with life. I am a wife, mom, tutor, writer, and I am a perennial optimist. (OK not every single minute but you get the point! :-)
This entry was posted in Positive Thinking and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Only He Can See : Epiphany

  1. mlissabeth says:

    Thank you,Kate for posting this, and helping to lift the gloom I started with today. I believe this was an answer to prayer.

    • Kate Kresse says:

      i am so happy that it lifted your gloom. january tends to be a tough month for gloom, doesn’t it? christmas is over, the hours of daylight short, and we are indoors too much!!

  2. Caddo Veil says:

    Excellent, Kate, excellent! God bless you BIG–love, sis Caddo

  3. diggingher says:

    Always enjoy your heart rich writing. Thank you for sharing Kate.

  4. What a wonderful post, Kate! I love the story of the wise men, and have always wondered why we don’t focus more on them in the grand story of Jesus’ birth. Wonderfully enriching perspectives for the week to come.

  5. Kate, I truly appreciate your memory of starting the school day with a simple prayer that meant a lot about how you would live that day. Praying for you a blessed, blessed Happy New Year!
    Maria

  6. A wonderful post with words to keep tucked away!

  7. Thanks for this, Kate! I love Corrie’s life and thoughts. You know, she learned her loving life from her sister who was with her, but died, in Ravensbrook. You could say her sister’s shorter life actually continued, lives on, even here, on this post and now, in our hearts. 🙂

  8. tbnranch says:

    What a great post, thanks, I loved it! 🙂 I read it twice.

Leave a Reply

