Ahead and Behind

AndrewWyethCurtainsBlowing

C.S. Lewis wrote “There are far better things ahead than any we leave behind”. Isn’t that an appropriate statement as we begin a new year? I thought so. The past year has been a series of mountains and valleys. A year of new dreams and attempts; a year of falling short and trying again. A year of joy and sorrow. I would imagine, upon reflection, that life has been that way for you, too.

We do not know for certain where any road leads. I used to long for guarantees…you know, a close to sure thing before venturing forth. Not at every stage of life, of course. When I headed to college and on my semester abroad, I had no idea what was ahead. I didn’t need to know. The same was true when I worked for Burroughs. I had a sense of wide-eyed optimism at those points in my life. It didn’t occur to me that things could turn out anything but magnificently.

Life marches on for each of us, though, doesn’t it? When life breaks our heart or shocks us, when hopes get shattered, as they sometimes do, it affects us. Of course it does, or we would not learn from our missteps or mistakes. BUT we mustn’t let even the biggest tragedies stop us from hope or take our determination to be joyful.

So in these early days of the new year, take some time. Take some time for you. Those in the northern hemisphere, take advantage of those short hours of daylight to snuggle in a quilt, have some coffee or tea, and reflect. Warm your hands and your heart. Know that longer days are coming. I don’t have snowy days in Phoenix, but we awoke to frost on our car Sunday morning. The chill in the air reminded me of the way my faith envelopes me and warms my soul.

Hope is just around the next bend in the road. Seek joy. Hope is there.

 

About Kate Kresse

I love to write, I love to talk, I love to uplift people when I can. I am a woman in love with life. I am a wife, mom, tutor, writer, and I am a perennial optimist. (OK not every single minute but you get the point! :-)
This entry was posted in faith/courage/miracles/hope and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Ahead and Behind

  1. jelillie says:

    Awesome word Kate. I think I s hall go make a cup ‘ o Joe right now and spend some time hoping!

  2. mlissabeth says:

    I am taking my time by reading wonderful words from my blog friends, like you.

  3. nuvofelt says:

    The road is always exciting. Sometimes difficult things occur, but there are always compensations if we keep our eyes open. search for joy, it’s worth it.

  4. territerri says:

    This is such good advice, especially at a time when so many of us are setting high expectations for ourselves. It’s good to be reminded that it’s okay if things don’t always turn out as planned. Happy New Year, Kate!

  5. Thanks for this sweet word, Kate. šŸ™‚

  6. One day at a time Sweet Jesus
    That is all I am asking from you

    this is how you should plod through your life..one day at a time…never look backwards
    Keep your eyes focused on the future, tomorrow not yesterday.

    Always be positive and be happy…and smile!

    • Kate Kresse says:

      amen to that! I think what weighs my heart down at times is days when i am truly plodding instead of skipping, hopping, or dancing…..thanks for the reminder! and for the wisdom that sometimes plodding is exactly what is sensible and required.

  7. We had a New Year’s Spiritual Emphasis Day at work this week (I work in an Christian University). The speaker was a pastor who emphasized that we take “faith, hope and charity” and tend to emphasize faith and love. But he offered that we don’t emphasize “hope” nearly enough, and that it is the state we want to nurture in order to build faith and love. I think you’d agree! šŸ™‚

    • Kate Kresse says:

      oh Debra I LOVE that….for without hope, how do we have the strength to keep faith? The 3 are SO linked—in a continuous unbroken circle…..or they should be, right? and i love the concept of a Spiritual Emphasis Day! I would love to have attended that—and work there, too!1

Leave a Reply

