Sometimes I love the Concept of Final Exams!

This has been quite a big tutoring week for me. An even bigger week for my students, of course. My junior high and high school students had finals. So there have been extra tutoring sessions, and longer tutoring sessions. By Wednesday night my mind was blown! I can only imagine how my students felt. Many of them were stressed. I eased their tensions the best I could. Many of them, I would imagine, will do very well. Some of them, it will be a struggle.

But I began to realize something as we reviewed. They had covered a lot of material in the past few months. they learned, grew, and changed. They were transformed. In that transformation, the light shines upon them and threw them. They glisten and shine. they have been processed in the rock polisher of life.

But I, too have changed. God continues to work within me, and you, too. We may not even notice the transformation. We may have felt stressed or overwhelmed, sad or happy, or just generally charged at some points. As we have tumbled through His rock polisher, the roughness wears away. He know that sometimes those tumbles in life are painful.

So every now and then, He just makes the chaos or pain stop. It gives a chance to regroup. He holds us in His hands. He smooths away the residue. He forgives, loves, transforms. What does this have to do with final exams? You see, sometimes we are almost TOO aware of our imperfections. It can paralyze us. But we mustn’t let that happen. We must move forward confidently. We can do that. Gosh, it is easy to see the glow and glisten that is in others, isn’t it? We must, then, believe that it is with us as well.

When I hear the weather reports from “up north” and hear about the snow, ice, and high winds, I remember days of living up north. When I lived in MN, volunteers made and built an Ice Palace for the Winter Carnival. I was thinking about that, because it occurred to me that we can become like the beautiful ice palace. I do not mean that we should become hard edged and cold or brittle. Rather, we become whole and wholly transformed by His presence. When we leave room for His transformations, clarity and authenticity enters us. His light shines right through us. I am posting some photos of the ice palace from years ago. May His loving transformative powers help you glow like a lit up crystalline ice palace.

About Kate Kresse

I love to write, I love to talk, I love to uplift people when I can. I am a woman in love with life. I am a wife, mom, tutor, writer, and I am a perennial optimist. (OK not every single minute but you get the point! :-)
This entry was posted in faith/courage/miracles/hope and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Sometimes I love the Concept of Final Exams!

  1. auntyuta says:

    Thanks for this beautifully written post, Kate. It is indeed amazing how God can transform us. Your thoughts on pain are an eye-opener too, And I love the pictures. Beautiful! Thank you. And have a great holiday. All the blessing of Christmas to you and your family. Love, Uta.

    • Kate Kresse says:

      Uta~ thanks so much…..i got so bogged down in the land of procrastination that i am now just getting caught up. i hope that today finds you well and that things are are great with you….thanks as always for your kind, loving words.—<3 kate

      • auntyuta says:

        Hello, dear Kate, thank you so much for your reply. I know all about procrastination. There are lots of things I have to catch up on. At my age I have to do everything rather slowly. So I try not to overdo anything. Doesn’t quite work this way all the time. Yes, today finds me well for I’m at the moment very much into taking it easy! Love, Uta.

  2. dogear6 says:

    Dear Kate – I loved your post. Sometimes & feel like all I do is cram for finals, but there are also times when I feel like I’ve learned it and it’s time to go out into the real world now and actually use it, which is more where I’m at lately. The theory stops and execution begins.

    Merry Christmas, dear friend. Wish I could give you a hug for real! You were one of my first Internet friends – funny how that happens.

    All is well here. My daughter, her Dad & boyfriend are all playing video games in the family room. There’s a lot of laughter coming from there – I think she just shot her Dad in the back for getting onto the wrong team. Payback would be a bitch but he can’t figure out how to operate the controller fast enough. If her boyfriend teams up with him, they just might get her but they’ll have to be fast. She’s pretty good at this. If only those zombies would hold still for a minute!

    Travels were scary – it took nearly 3 hours longer and there were several fatalities on the highways we were travelling. I was so glad to get here without incident.

    Enjoy. Relax. Just be in the moment and enjoy God’s presence simply as you are, with his unconditional love. Psalm 46:10.

    Nancy

    • Kate Kresse says:

      Dear Nancy,
      Thank you so much. I hope that your Christmas was beautiful, and that the month is going swimmingly for you. We did not travel, we stayed here in sunny AZ. I am glad we did, as I was overwhelmed and wiped out, as was my husband. Finally we are feeling a bit caught up on things. I am gradually learning to get things done around here with small pieces of time.
      We loved our time together without me being in the midst of tutoring kids for their finals. As i said to one of my students, “i need a break so that i don’t get cranky with my students”!!
      Being in the moment is a good thing—except for when it leads me to procrastinate!!! working on it. Hope today finds you well, rested, happy, and healthy. love to you and yours–

  3. Howdy from up north! 🙂
    This was lovely. Thanks for it!
    We had 7″ of perfect snow for playing, Tuesday. Loved it. If you’d been here we could have built the biggest snowman in the world! 🙂
    ❤ K

    • Kate Kresse says:

      we could have built snowman, made snow angels, rounded up our hubbies to build forts and had a fun snowball fight. Followed by mugs of cocoa, cookies, laughter, and endless conversations about life.
      Oh heck, why can’t we rearrange the map and make our yards adjacent?
      we had a cold snap here that lasted i think close to 2 weeks. We had to cover our outdoor pipes, and leave our indoor faucets running slowly to keep our pipes from bursting. Then this week it is at last warmer…to which i say hooray, huzzah, hallelujah! ❤

  4. eof737 says:

    ¸.•*¨*•.♪♫♫♪ 😆 Happy Holidays to You & Yours! 😆 .♪♫•*¨*•.¸¸ ♥
    ˜”*°•.˜”*°•.˜”*°•.★★.•°*”˜.•°*”˜.•°*”˜” ♥ ˜”*°•.˜”*°•.˜”*°•.★★.•°*”˜.•°*”˜.•°*”˜”
    Eliz
    Hope you are enjoying the holidays!

Leave a Reply

