Praying for the children, the families in Connecticut

Oh how sorrowful for the families in Connecticut. How sorrowful to have those Christmas gifts that were carefully tucked away or ordered, which will never be opened. My heart goes out to them. I am sure that everyone’s hearts ache for them. I am sure today started like an ordinary day for the families. Rushing through breakfast, running to the school bus, or dropping the children off at school. Never to return.

How to deal with so much sorrow? The survivors, traumatized. The families of the victims, distraught. How to deal with such a burden of grief? As one who has survived the loss of a child, I say that faith helps. We lost ours to post-surgical infection. But even still, we did not expect it. We had taken her to the hospital expecting to bring her home.

How horrible it was to return home without her. Having to pick up her toys that had been strewn about, and put them away forever, was heartbreaking. Having to fold her sweet little clothes from the dryer, and tuck them away, never to be worn again, made us about collapse in pools of tears. It was late September, oh so many years ago. Christmas was heartbreaking.

How much more difficult it will be for these families. Despite the repeated school yard/ school house attacks, no one expects their children or parents to die at school. Children go to school in the morning and return home. they have school projects, drawings, and homework clutched in their hands. They greet their parents with hugs and smiles, or tears and grouchiness if it has been a tough day. But they greet them. They expect to always greet them. Parents expect them to return home, and their children expect their parents to return home.

Now, not until eternal light shines on the parents and siblings will they see each other again. This evening, hug and love and reach out to those you know. Life is shorter than we can ever, ever know. Pray very hard for the brokenhearted this evening. I know from personal experience that the song “I’ll Be Home for Christmas” has become irrevocably poignant for them…..

May we each treat everyone with gentleness that spreads like honey on toast.

About Kate Kresse

I love to write, I love to talk, I love to uplift people when I can. I am a woman in love with life. I am a wife, mom, tutor, writer, and I am a perennial optimist. (OK not every single minute but you get the point! :-)
This entry was posted in Positive Thinking and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Praying for the children, the families in Connecticut

  1. I have had no words and so appreciate yours so much.

  2. fgassette says:

    JOINING YOU IN PRAYER!

    BE ENCOURAGED! BE BLESSED!

  3. misswhiplash says:

    My prayers and thoughts are with these families..it is so awful that no words can describe. How much longer is the USA going to carry on letting people carry arms as part of the Constitution…it needs to be changed!

  4. I am sorry for your loss, and I appreciate your thoughts here.

  5. I love how you expressed that tender intention… ” May we each treat everyone with gentleness that spreads like honey on toast.”…yes, with gentleness, tenderness and care. Kate, I am so sorry for your loss and for every parent on earth who has lost a child…and each time that sadness happens again and awakens those memories. Blessings to you Kate… with abundant warmth and kindness, too.

  6. reneeboomer says:

    OH Kate. I am so sorry for your loss, always in your hearts. My heart aches for all the families and all involved with this horrible loss in Connecticut. What a senseless act! It is so difficult to understand! Hugs and prayers. Renee 🙂

  7. eof737 says:

    That angel form expresses the pain … so sad.

Leave a Reply

