Thanksgivings through the years

Do holidays and other occasions make you reflective? They do that to me! Thanksgiving holds so many memories for me. When I was in elementary school, Thanksgiving and Christmas were frequently spent at my grandparents homes. In those days there were cousins a’plenty, and lots of aunts and uncles, too.

Now, those of a ahem certain age, will remember a Thanksgiving from our childhoods–right after President Kennedy was¬†assassinated. The wake and funeral were a time of national mourning. At the time we were thankful to have each other to lean on. Thanksgiving forever after had a certain tinge. The following Thanksgiving season my twin cousins were born. Now my Thanksgivings were colored with joyous joy. Isn’t it amazing how one event changes everything? It does. The same Thanksgiving season one of my grandma’s died….arrivals and departures….tears of joy and sorrow.

The Thanksgiving after that, one of my uncles got married (he was one of my heroes when I was a little girl). Two days after his wedding we moved from Winona back to Minneapolis! So many thanksgiving memories, right? Weeping to leave my little town and rejoicing to be back in the same town as some of my cousins!

Thanksgivings rolled by uneventfully for awhile~but consisted of grand times with relatives; laughing, eating, playing, and loving the togetherness. Four years later—Thanksgiving weekend again, we moved from MN to Chicago. Weeping once again to leave my cousins and friends. Of course, the ensuing years brought many new friends! Sometimes we’d journey back to MN over Thanksgiving to see some of my cousins/aunts/uncles/ and grandparents.

How oddly bookendish-then, that 15 years after leaving MN, Thanksgiving found us living in MN again—and our daughter being born. How rejoicing and sorrowful that was–as we were grateful for miraculously talented doctors. They snatched her from death’s door and through 8 surgeries in 10 months they gave us a gift. For awhile, Thanksgiving was sorrowful again….but no, not forever!

Since then, throughout the waxing and waning that is our earthly life, Thanksgiving has me counting our blessings. The ups, the downs, the gains, the losses, the triumphs, the sorrows….through it all~ the Lord of Thanksgiving enfolds us.

We are blessed, my friends. Not in the ways that garner us fame and fortune necessarily. You see, even through the gotchas of life, God loves us. He stands behind us; His hand on our shoulders. The sources of our suffering may always cause pain. The thorn is always on the rose. After an ice storm, the whole world looks like a gorgeous crystal palace.

But Thanksgiving truly does make me reflective. It helps to remind me each year…..yes there is, will be, and has been weeping. But oh my, has there been laughter, too. ¬†Moments that make me say, upon reflection….”Lord, you were there then, too….ah, of course you were….no wonder I walked through that time. Your grace….”

May your Thanksgiving me tinged with grace, memories, some laughter….and nostalgic tears. Have a blessed day.

About Kate Kresse

I love to write, I love to talk, I love to uplift people when I can. I am a woman in love with life. I am a wife, mom, tutor, writer, and I am a perennial optimist. (OK not every single minute but you get the point! :-)
This entry was posted in faith/courage/miracles/hope and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Thanksgivings through the years

  1. Happy Thanksgiving Kate

  2. arbohl says:

    So true. Holidays are the perfect time for doing some reflecting and mirror looking.

  3. TBM says:

    Happy Thanksgiving … this time of year always makes me feel nostalgic.

  4. I was certainly mindful of many of the same things, Kate. I hope your day was lovely. So much energy…then poof! It’s over! :-) But the thankful part doesn’t have to me, right? :-)

  5. Hope you had a wonderful day of thanksgiving, Kate!

  6. tbnranch says:

    This Thanksgiving was extra special… I was glad to have my Mom and Dad here. My Mother has since been admitted into a Nursing care center. Glad I went to all the trouble of making sure the family was all together. I never even considered the fact it might be the last time we’d sit at the same table.

  7. tbnranch says:

    Oh dear, I just read this again realizing how true it really was… my Mom pass away just two weeks later. :(

Leave a Reply

