Kate and the 5K-Updated With Photos!

It is Friday night–I completed the 5K, and was TIRED!! It was fairly hilly and some dirt roads and some blacktop. I will post more on Saturday, but I wanted you to know I survived. I did NOT quit. I ran the first maybe 1/4 mile and walked rapidly for the rest of it.

My time was not impressive; 42 minutes, 30 seconds. I will write more over the weekend and post a few pictures that I took before the race began. i survived it, am sore this evening, and am determined to do better the next time. As I said, I will update! Goodnight, sweet dreams, and God bless you.

Saturday morning:

It is official, I am sore but happy. Happy that I DID finish. At different points during the 5K I did want to quit!! My time was far less than stellar. Now that fall is here, I will continue my walking program but outdoors, and I will seek out hills to build my stamina, too. They anticipated over 1,200 entrants in the 5K. I assume they had that many or more. My son and I got there early to register, and then had our lunch.

Prior to the race there were other races–a 1K for young kids, families, folks with strollers, etc. There was also a mascot race. Some of my photos below show us with some of the mascots. It was a great day to be out in the fresh air, and I am glad I did it. They handed out little certificates to the top 3 male and top 3 female finishers in each age group. No confetti—I wasn’t one of them! But I finished ~ and I didn’t finish last, either. I’ll take it! 20121116_163701.jpg

Today is a day for some relaxation. I am going to try to walk a mile outside to loosen up my muscles. Enjoy the photos :-). Thanks for pulling for me….still trying to download more photos….

sorry the one photo is huge. the photos are in my cell phone and i am having some trouble!!

Photo: Here I am Friday at my first 5K.

About Kate Kresse

I love to write, I love to talk, I love to uplift people when I can. I am a woman in love with life. I am a wife, mom, tutor, writer, and I am a perennial optimist. (OK not every single minute but you get the point! :-)
This entry was posted in Health and exercise and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to Kate and the 5K-Updated With Photos!

  1. Caddo Veil says:

    Another “Thank You, Jesus!!” I’m so proud of you, Kate–I felt like I was there at the end (my great imagination), looking forward to details. Rest up, dear heart–God bless you big–love, sis Caddo

  2. misswhiplash says:

    well done Kate ..just shows what can be done with determination

    • Kate Kresse says:

      i know—but i have to say that i am VERY surprised to be sore….i normally walk about 3 miles, but in the house or on a treadmill. the slight hills and outdoor terrain made much more of a difference than i ever expected :-)

  3. Butch Dean says:

    Bravo! Looking forward to the photos! Great Job!

  4. Debbie says:

    Way to go, Kate! Amazing. I would probably have walked fast for the first 1/4 mile, walked regular for a while and crawled across the finish line! ;)

  5. Ray's Mom says:

    What an accomplishment. You finished, that is the only thing that really makes a difference.

  6. Hey this is a big accomplishment! ! Congrats!!!!!

  7. Good for you! That’s a great accomplishment. You must be very proud of yourself! You should be! :-)

  8. reneeboomer says:

    Kate! I I am so proud of YOU!! I have been trying to get over here and congratulate you. Good Job! Your time IS IMPRESSIVE Kate! You bet it is! Be proud! It is so exciting to do something like that. Yes it is a huge difference than power walking or walking or running on a treadmill. Outdoor running is not the same! If we lived closer we could train together. Keep up the good work. :) Renee hugs..

    • Kate Kresse says:

      dang i wish you lived closer!!! it would be so fun to do together—how about coming out next January for the PF Chang Phoenix Marathon and half marathon?

      • reneeboomer says:

        OMG! It would be so cool if we did live closer. You are not close to my home at all. lol I am going to enter the Mother’s Day 5K with my daughter and some family. I am trying to beat my record, so far I can run and some power walking 6.5k in 50 minutes. All the best. Are you entering the half marathon? :)

  9. dogear6 says:

    Having done one of these years ago (and I did come in last) I know how hard they can be. Congratulations!!

    Nancy

  10. I’m just catching up on some reading, so I’m late to this, but want you to know you are very inspiring to run a 5K !

  11. Happy you did it! One of those bucket list things for me.

Leave a Reply

