Autumn Has Always Been Special to Me

Autumn Photo from T Walthall—a friend of a friend.

I have to admit, I always loved autumn when I loved in parts of the country that had spectacular autumns. I love the gloriously bright oranges, yellows, and red that make the trees look ablaze with color. I love scuffling through the piles of leaves that carpet the lawns, sidewalks, and forest floors. Each year seems more beautiful than the previous one. It is because of autumn that maple trees are my favorite. they are easy to climb and unparalleled in autumnal beauty.

I love an autumn day when the sky is intensely blue,  you look at the trees against the sky and are truly in awe at the color contrast. Perhaps it is because the winter, with its bare trees is coming. It makes me cherish those pretty fall trees. I almost want to run outside and catch the leaves and put them back on the trees. The intoxicating smell of the autumn leaves thrills me.

As a child it filled me with laughter to see piles of leaves, because I would run and leap into those piles. As a college girl, the leaves called me outdoors to sit beneath a maple tree to study. As a young mom, autumn urged me to bring my wide-eyed wonder-filled son out to hug the trees and play. Even now the autumn leaves thrill us.

Fall in Phoenix is different. Fall means glorious weather with the intense heat gone. The leaves change colors and fall, but later in the year, and the colors are not the reds and golds of the maples. But they do change. In the fall here in Phoenix, everyone is out and enjoying the weather. Fall reminds me now, more than ever, that sometimes loss is really gain. Sometimes the dropping of the leaves means the mulching of the lawn. Sometimes it means you now have a less obstructed view of the sky.

 

So before counting the grief or the losses, realize that God has given you a new view, a chance for a clearer signal between you and Him. New growth follows the winter. But more correctly, the new growth begins now. The leaves fall, the tips of the branches protect themselves from the coming frost. All of that is required before the new growth can happen.

Think of tulips, crocuses, hyacinths, and daffodils. What is essential? In order to grow, the bulbs must undergo the winter (or the bulbs must be stashed in the fridge, according to my late dad). So as fall continues, and winter approaches, the lesson is there. Yes there is suffering, yes there is loss and disappointment. There always will be; but it serves to strengthen us when we let it do so. Night does fall, but joy cometh in the morning. Is it any wonder that I am a perennial optimist?

About Kate Kresse

I love to write, I love to talk, I love to uplift people when I can. I am a woman in love with life. I am a wife, mom, tutor, writer, and I am a perennial optimist. (OK not every single minute but you get the point! :-)
This entry was posted in faith/courage/miracles/hope, Nature and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Autumn Has Always Been Special to Me

  1. misswhiplash says:

    I agree with every single word..you have an easy way with words kate that make your meaning so clear…love it and I love your drawings of Jesus..I wonder if He did look like that

  2. Julie Church says:

    I also enjoy the fall, I moved to Connecticut from California in early October forty years ago and quickly fell in love with the fall and my husband. The trees change and then go naked and the air has a feel to it you don’t get in the other seasons. Off in the distance someone is burning a wood fire that smells wonderful and our front yard gets covered in pine needles from our next door neighbor’s yard. But fall is wonderful and I feel like I come alive!

    • Kate Kresse says:

      oh julie i just love, love, love that smell—and the delightful way that pine needles cover the yard, too. We have lived i New England many years ago, and did visit Fairfield County, CT in the fall. it was spectacular! California is gorgeous too….

      • Julie Church says:

        I wouldn’t move back to California, but love it when I visit my brothers and their families. But the redwoods, I miss, Mariposa (near Yosemite and where my dad was born) I miss as well. The sound of the wind in the tall pines; aah. . . . . But I am not crazy about our neighbor’s pines.
        Thanks for sharing and enjoy your fall!

  3. Lucid Gypsy says:

    Lovely words and images Kate.

  4. I love fall, even though I don’t get to experience it as much these days living in SW Florida, but still remember my over twenty years of it in NYC. The pictures are great!

  5. amira says:

    Simply beautiful.
    I wish to sit on that swing and swing back and forth under the golden shade.
    I wish to walk on that path on the golden leaves. I wish I wish I wish
    Autumn is such a magical time. How I miss the seasons. Here in Maldives we have only the sun 🙂

    • Kate Kresse says:

      i would love to swing and spin my swing, and drag my feet through the gorgeous and fragrant leaves!!! i bet the maldives is a gorgeous place to live despite the lack of changing seasons..

  6. auntyuta says:

    I love all the pictures you chose for this blog, Kate. Where we’re staying in Berlin at the moment we have huge trees in autumnal colors in front of our windows. Plenty of autumn leaves fall all the time on the lawns beneath. Nearly every day some workers appear with machines to get rid of the leaves from the lawn! They make an awful lot of noise, which I don’t like at all. However to look at the changing color of the leaves on the trees is just wonderful.
    Your dreamstime picture with the brightly colored flowers is wonderful to look at too.

    • Kate Kresse says:

      are you in Berlin for Octoberfest? Oh enjoy the gorgeous beauty of your lovely Germany. will you spend some time in the black forest?

      • auntyuta says:

        Hi, Kate, we were in Munich for my cousin’s funeral when the Octoberfest was on. However the Octoberfest was really of no interest to us at the time. We stayed in Munich for two nights only. Apart from going to my brother’s place in Mecklenburg-Vorpommern (to the north of Berlin) for the last few days of our stay in Germany we don’t plan on traveling around much more except perhaps for going to Leipzig for one day which isn’t very far to the south of Berlin. My brother and his wife for sure are going to show us a few of the beautiful sights in their area. Our 60 days in our little apartment in Berlin are soon gone. Today we visit family again here in Berlin. There’s a lot of traveling around for us within Berlin, even though during a few short weeks two oldies can’t possibly see everything there is to see. We use a lot of public transport here which is very good.
        Australian Uta (at present still in Berlin)

  7. You said it so well. I love Autumn, it’s my favorite time of year. When you have time, look at the pictures I just posted today on my blog….right from my front yard. http://mamasemptynest.wordpress.com/2012/10/24/wordless-wednesday-here-today-gone-tomorrow/

  8. Ray's Mom says:

    Enjoy your writing and photos

  9. dorannrule says:

    I love your “take” on fall! As always the “perennial optimist” is inspiring. A lovely post Kate. Thanks for sharing. 🙂

Leave a Reply

