Lord It’s Good That We Are Here: Luke 9:33

Do you ever over-dramatize things or over-react? Is it only me? Is it a girl thing? Oh gosh, there are times when I really make a big deal of things in my mind. I don’t do it nearly as much as I used to though. At times I lose perspective while I am trying to solve or resolve something or figure out a strategy to make things better. During those times I put too much importance on the issue. My lists of things to do become piles of crumbled paper.

My human tendency to dramatize is why I am reassured when I read about Jesus’ transfiguration.There Peter, James, and John were during this magnificent revelation. God spoke from the heavens and told them Jesus is His son. During all of this the apostles were terrified, awestruck, and well, completely freaked out.

Peter, (one of my faves) handled it probably the way I would. He just said what was in his mind and heart—perhaps in order to figure out what he was thinking. I hope you understand what I mean. Do you ever have to talk (or write) in order to figure out what you are thinking?

Luke 9:33 “Then as the men were starting to leave, Peter said to Jesus, “Master, it is good for us to be here. Let us make three shelters, one for you and one for Moses and one for Elijah” – not knowing what he was saying.” Indeed, there are times when I am off on a tear and don’t really know what I am saying or thinking, too.

I can truly picture Jesus standing there after all of this revelation, and hearing Peter babble about shelters and tents. Can’t you just picture Jesus walking over to him, putting an arm around him, smiling with His eyes full of love and saying something like “Peter, dude, chill. It’s all good!”

I hope you don’t think me irreverent to think of it in that way ~ you see, I love to think of Him back then and in the present ~ He is my most cherished present and gift. May His gift to you today and always be His loving presence. May your heart be a shelter and tent for Him.

About Kate Kresse

I love to write, I love to talk, I love to uplift people when I can. I am a woman in love with life. I am a wife, mom, tutor, writer, and I am a perennial optimist. (OK not every single minute but you get the point! :-)
This entry was posted in faith/courage/miracles/hope and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Lord It’s Good That We Are Here: Luke 9:33

  1. bearshouse says:

    although i think the drawing of Jesus and the girl is very cheezy, the people drawn are so pretty it is hard not to look at it.
    thanks

  2. Caddo Veil says:

    I like the way you think, Kate! And I have to agree, that’s not one of my fave depictions of Jesus and the girl, either–it seems to be showing up a lot lately. God bless you Big–love, sis Caddo

  3. Patricia says:

    “Can’t you just picture Jesus walking over to him, putting an arm around him, smiling with His eyes full of love and saying something like “Peter, dude, chill. It’s all good!””

    Oh, Kate, I love this image!! Can I steal that line? “Patricia, dude, chill. It’s all good!”
    Oh, how I need Jesus’ arm around me, and to say that very real phrase to me.

    Thank you, Kate.
    Patricia
    P.S. I have been basically “off-line” for awhile now, and your post is perfect to return to.

    • Kate Kresse says:

      you can use it anytime Patricia…i so love to think about Jesus putting His arm around me in those difficult heart-rending times. i am glad you have returned, dear Patricia.—kate

Leave a Reply

