Life is Precious

As the years spin by and the sunrises and sunsets seem to come clLioser and closer together I realize that I cannot stop the sands of time. I always hated the scene in the Wizard of Oz when the Wicked Witch of the West slammed the hourglass down and left Dorothy locked in the chamber with the hourglass. The sands were zooming quickly to the bottom.

Her beloved rescuers three (Scarecrow, Tin man, and Lion) were desperately trying to chop open the door. Dorothy was crying and saying “hurry, the sands in the hourglass are almost gone”. Throughout my life I thought that was THE most frightening moment in the movie. She feared her time would be gone, and she would be forever trapped until the witch came and killed her.

You see, life itself can feel like that. Our responsibilities, expectations of ourselves, and jobs can press upon us. But even in those moments when everything is weighing us down, it is precious. Even when it seems there isn’t time to savor, there are joyful chances. Joyful chances mean that you have the chance to make the most of each moment. No, I am not trying to advise you to stop and smell the roses.

I am trying to remind myself that My Shepherd tries to help me see that the memory of the rose lingers even beyond the fleeting scent of the blossom. The rose is precious, but so was the memory of the rose. Each of my students is precious this week. I hope that they know that by how I teach them. I hope that I can become ever more patient and creative with them. There are times when I get frustrated because I cannot tell if they are understanding the chapter, and am rapidly running out of ways to help them.

I pray that each of my students knows that the gift that they are brings some manner of beauty and joy to others. I wish I always saw it in every moment of my teaching. I resolve to improve that aspect of me. Tonight I am careworn, tomorrow I will rise up with wings as eagles to minister to my students the best I can.

I wish you a grace=filled day.

 

 

About Kate Kresse

I love to write, I love to talk, I love to uplift people when I can. I am a woman in love with life. I am a wife, mom, tutor, writer, and I am a perennial optimist. (OK not every single minute but you get the point! :-)
This entry was posted in faith/courage/miracles/hope and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Life is Precious

  1. Ray's Mom says:

    Certainly describes some days, even weeks.

  2. Caddo Veil says:

    Thank you, Kate–and to you also! God bless you–love, sis Caddo

  3. I really appreciated reading your post today, Kate. As our family’s ‘year of the weddings’ is winding down to the last one in a couple of weeks, I’ve been thinking how quickly time has gone throughout all of this planning. I hope I’ve taken enough time (I think I have) to savor each tender moment during these most special of all days for each of my children. Thank you for reminding me. 🙂

    • Kate Kresse says:

      I have been thinking about you and all the special moments you are jamming all into the same year. you all will have so many ways to re-savor these weddings over the years, as the weddings and memories are so very intertwine. i hope that as the holidays approach all kinds of wondrous new memories will be built all together.

  4. I really like this post. So many changes this past year of my life and so busy… I’ve been fearful of time slipping away. Am learning to just be more aware, life in that moment of time and trust God with the moments. Thanks, Kate.

Leave a Reply

