Thursdays and Me

When I was a student, Thursdays were about my favorite. I still had another glorious school day, and I had family and friend time on the horizon. Lately coming up on Thursday means that I have just about made it through the work week.

I have to say that my pacing is different this year. Last year, I had long stretches of free time for writing, blogging and reading . This year there has been an enormous increase in students needing tutoring. For my pocketbook that is a good thing. For the sake of my students, it is definitely a good thing. For my hunger to make a difference and help others, it is a good thing. I am stunned at the huge increase in people looking for tutors. Even though I have taken on a bunch, there are others I couldn’t add, because I can’t be in multiple places at the same time.

It is encouraging that parents (and adult learners) are trying to find help. God seems to lead them to the company that I tutor for (WyzAnt). It is my 4th year tutoring for them, and it continues to be an enormous blessing in my life. I have always wanted to teach, and no matter what my particular job/occupation/vocation is or has been at any point in time, I have always been a teacher at heart. When you think about it, no matter what you do, it does involve teaching, inspiring, training, persuading, giving.

So as I head out to one more student this evening (a new one) I realize something amazing. I AM living my dream. Remember how I have said I always loved The Little House Books, The Anne of Green Gables Books, The Betsy Tacy Books, and Louisa May Alcott? I had been focused on the “writer” thread that runs through all of them. I know I share that “writer thread”.

Of course, there is another thread running through them: the teacher thread. Some are born with a teaching gene. I was. I knew it from the time my very first cousin came along, I think. Perhaps that is why I was never jealous of my brothers or cousins. I had a hunger to love them and teach them and take care of them. Not because I felt superior. I just felt called to do it. Even when I took ballet and piano — as soon as I came home I’d show my brothers (or in a pinch I’d plop my cat on the couch and dance or play for him πŸ˜‰ ). It made me so happy. Not in a show-off way, in a sharing way.

What joy it is to share what you know with everyone. We all know something—and it is so community-enriching to share it. Of course it goes back to my mom’s aphorism to me: light a candle in the darkness, dear. Thursdays make me reflective. Just when I am about to run out of gas, here comes Thursday. Thursdays are God’s little booster shot to get you to His day. But of course, they are ALL His days, aren’t they?

I love to help my students onto whatever path God has in store for them. I launch kites—and I love it.

About Kate Kresse

I love to write, I love to talk, I love to uplift people when I can. I am a woman in love with life. I am a wife, mom, tutor, writer, and I am a perennial optimist. (OK not every single minute but you get the point! :-)
This entry was posted in education and career and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Thursdays and Me

  1. mlissabeth says:

    What a perfect way to put it! “Not in showing-off way, but a sharing way.” I have often felt that way. and BTW, I always liked Louisa May Alcott, and Laura Ingalls Wilder, too.

    • Kate Kresse says:

      Thanks! Glad you know what I mean! i remember when my school had a book fair and they got a new gorgeous hard cover copy of On the Banks of Plum Creek AND Little House in the Big Woods. Sigh…we were so captivated by it and stood there looking at it with our eyes as big as saucers. We knew she wrote those books precisely for us…..Laura…..we all tried calling our daddies “Pa” hoping he’d call us half-pint! Of course, we never explained that to our dads. LOL. Poor dads!!

    • Kate Kresse says:

      weren’t they the loveliest authors? they made us want to be and do so much. what revolutionary, inspirational women tey were.

  2. Caddo Veil says:

    This is so wonderful, as usual, Kate! Great points about teaching and giving–sharing. And I did laugh, picturing you plopping the cat down to be the audience–like it or not; hey–he/she’s getting in for free! God bless you abundantly (Big)–love, sis Caddo

    • Kate Kresse says:

      poor George! He was always so patient with all of us!! Sometimes I’d put my doll in a chair to be my audience…..and even put her (my doll) on the piano bench beside me and be the piano teacher and take the dolls hands and hold them on the keys to teach her….yeah—I really did! God bless you, too, dear Caddo ❀

    • Kate Kresse says:

      George the cat was so patient with the 3 of us kids….if i couldn’t find him, my baby doll or my bride doll got the concert or dance recital! (and they never complained, eiter πŸ™‚ )

  3. Lucid Gypsy says:

    I can imagine you are a great teacher, helping them to spread their wings and fly.

  4. reneeboomer says:

    A great teacher you must be!! Amazing post. Happy Friday Kate. β™₯ πŸ™‚

  5. your kite launching analogy is so apt. Love it!!

Leave a Reply

