What Does Mozart Have to Do With You? More Than You Realize!

I have been thinking about how each of us fits in in this grand world of ours. Reading other peoples’ blogs and listening to what both they and my students have to say is what went me down that path. You see, each person has such a unique combination of gifts. We have all heard the maxim that we only use 10% of our brains. That seems a little general to me, though.

Do you remember the movie Amadeus? If you don’t recall the movie, it was a wonderful film about Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart. The man was a genius, and began composing when he was a mere slip of a boy — he was only 5 years old. 

What fascinated me about the film Amadeus was watching him compose symphonies, operas, and requiems. He added all the layers of instruments and notes bit by bit. He could hear it in his head. Perhaps all composers can do that; I am no composer, so I cannot attest to that. But he could hear each instrument—the harmonies and melodies and add them in.

What occurred through this process is that what began as a simple melody took on a completely different sound, of course, when the entire range of instruments, notes, and rhythms were brought together.

File:Mozart Sheet Music.jpg

Our lives are very much like that. Without each of us adding our notes and instruments, the symphony of life is far less glorious than it could be. don’t worry, the other instruments will join in. Perhaps someone nearby is too shy to try until they see someone else go first. It matters not whether you are a harp, a triangle, a violin, a flute, a bassoon, or a kazoo. When you  let loose with your beautiful music ~ even if you make a mistake ~ the symphony grows.

You are beautiful. When God created the instrument that is YOU, He intended you to have a part in His symphony. The world is richer by your contribution. . . after all, the little piccolo may not get many parts in the majority of musical arrangements. But would you want to hear  “Stars and Stripes Forever” without the piccolo?

Each of our instruments provide texture, depth, beauty, and inspiration. There is no need to point fingers and be jealous of the violins if you are a bassoon or an oboe. There are or will be songs and arrangements that focus on you. Your life will and already does have meaning. Those that are feeling low or lowly or worn down….rest a bit. Re-group. Time heals. Time provides a new day each day. Don’t give up.

What does Mozart have to do with you? He wove so many notes together. We do, too , with our lives. When I first wrote this post, I mistakenly attributed the music in the video below to Mozart. It is a Song of Joy. Of course, one of my friends reminded me that Song of Joy was written into BEETHOVEN’s 9th Symphony! So properly attributing it now, here is Beethoven’s beauty. Oh–he can still bring a Song of Joy. Just look!

About Kate Kresse

I love to write, I love to talk, I love to uplift people when I can. I am a woman in love with life. I am a wife, mom, tutor, writer, and I am a perennial optimist. (OK not every single minute but you get the point! :-)
This entry was posted in faith/courage/miracles/hope and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to What Does Mozart Have to Do With You? More Than You Realize!

  1. How timely! My spiritual director said much the same thing this afternoon. We all have our own individual part to play in the Kingdom.

  2. nuvofelt says:

    It made my day, thanks. When our children were small they made up a praise song to the main theme. I’d forgotten all about it until I watched this. It did my heart good. Blessings.

  3. reneeboomer says:

    OH Kate!! I LOVE reading your posts. Thank-you. Have a wonderful weekend. hugs. ♥ Renee

  4. Caddo Veil says:

    If I weren’t so dang happy, I might feel bad about all those years when I didn’t think my life–anything about me–had meaning, a part in the greatness of the world around me, let alone Eternity. It is just plain FUN, these days, to know that God is just waiting for me to get up each day and play my part/instrument!! Yay!! (skipping in my heart) God bless you Big, Kate–much love, sis Caddo

    • Kate Kresse says:

      do you have an instrument you would like to be? Or is that like Barbara Walter’s famous interview with Katharine Hepburn when she asked her what kind of tree she would be? Oh indeed, Caddo~you ae an amazing instrument in His loving hands….and I am so grateful that you are part of the wondrous symphony.

  5. misswhiplash says:

    I agree with Caddo, each day is another chance to play our part in life and to enjoy what we do….that video mad eme really happy..thank you kate and lots of love xxxx

  6. Reading your post this morning was a great way to start the day. Beautiful!

  7. mlissabeth says:

    “You are beautiful. When God created the instrument that is YOU, He intended you to have a part in His symphony. The world is richer by your contribution. . . ” Thanks for posting this. You are always so encouraging!

  8. Each instrument has its own purpose, and it’s not always to shine. The bass instruments carry the beat along and add weight. The piccolo gets to sparkle, but often is drowned out. Just as you said, each has its moment. Sometimes an instrument gets to wait for many measures of rest before its turn, too. 😉

    • Kate Kresse says:

      i think somedays i am an instrument and some days i am the gal that turns the pages of the music for someone else….and you bet, we go long stretches in the arrangment wit nary a note to play, and that’s as it should be!

  9. i love the movie, Amadeus, and I like the way you think! We do learn so much from each other, and the layering of each line of music we share together is indeed a symphony. I hope the notes I play contribute to a pleasing sound…some days I do wonder! 🙂

    • Kate Kresse says:

      your threads of music in the symphony are beautiful, uplifting, sensational, inspiring, peace-giving. I do know what you mean though. Some days my sound feels completely out of whack!!

  10. Kate, yes, this is encouraging! Now, forgive me for putting on my ‘Jeopardy’ hat and letting you know that this music is a movement from Beethoven’s Ninth Symphony, I believe, in which he sets Schiller’s Ode to Joy to music.
    It’s really funny that you did this, because while I’m your fan, I am not a fan of Mozart, but love Beethoven.
    sheepish grin:
    :0)
    Love,
    Maria
    Is it okay that I said this? Do you find a funny coincidence here in likes and dislikes?

Leave a Reply

