Feathers To Raise You Up: Sail On and Run the Good Race

Leonardo da Vinci wrote “Feathers shall raise men even as they do birds, toward heaven; that is by letters written with their quills”.

The power of the pen (or the keyboard) is mighty. It can lift and inspire, it can inform, it can alienate and destroy. I believe that it is our job in life to do what we can to uplift. What more wonderful thing can there be than to uplift, inspire, and restore others? Everyone gets discouraged. Everyone gets hurt. Our job is to bandage the wounds, listen, help each other up the mountains.

For climb we must! We will never ever be lonely if we encourage each other along in our journeys. What encourages you on your way when you are struggling, tired, exhausted, frustrated? How have others reached out to you and restored you? So many times I read someone’s inspiring words, view their amazingly magnificent photos, or read people’s comments on others’ blogs (or my own). Each time I am inspired by something. I smile, and I realize something important.

People care. People want others to feel whole and restored. People know how important it is to be whole, hope-filled and strong. Isn’t that a wonderful thing? I was in a mom’s group when my son was a pre-schooler. One day we were all sharing about being homemakers, and I said,”you know, we are a wonderful support for each other. wouldn’t it be magnificent if for an entire day we could see ourselves the way our friends see us? ”

For our vision and perceptions of ourselves can be so very flawed. We tend to see our flaws, faults and shortcomings. But this blinds us to the wonder and glory within us. I believe that as bloggers we have quite naturally become a support system for each other. At least that has been my experience. It fills me with gratitude; and it raises ME up. I think that God is going to expect much from each of us very soon. Very soon.

You see, He has helped us set up an entire new support system for ourselves through our blogging. that means if we are tested, and storms come our way (as they surely will), we have an entire support crew at the ready. Yes, He is the captain of the ship. Our ropes will be ready and we shall sail on.

As birds of a blogging flock, as we take flight over canyons with pending storms, we shall fly together. We fly in V formation, taking turns in the lead position as we tire. We give each other strength. It seems to come so naturally. That, dear reader, is the joy of writing and living and friendship, and being committed to kindness.

At the end of our days we hope to truly say “I have fought the good fight, I have finished the course, I have kept the faith” ~ 2Timothy 4:7

About Kate Kresse

I love to write, I love to talk, I love to uplift people when I can. I am a woman in love with life. I am a wife, mom, tutor, writer, and I am a perennial optimist. (OK not every single minute but you get the point! :-)
This entry was posted in Friendship and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Feathers To Raise You Up: Sail On and Run the Good Race

  1. jelillie says:

    I am with you Kate. The challenges ahead are great. May God make each of us more a source of encouragement towards the grace and holiness God desires!

  2. Caddo Veil says:

    As I’ve said before, Kate, you’re One Fine Cheerleader!! It really is wonderful when we realize the sense of community here, the support–I think that’s why I feel a commitment, a mostly joyful obligation to show up every day. We never know when our words might make the difference in someone’s day. Words are so powerful, my prayer is that God would help me to only speak “life”. God bless you big–love, sis Caddo

    • Kate Kresse says:

      that is a really beautiful prayer. how lovely our world becomes when we speak His truth and joy wherever we go. I pray that I can be more consistent in my reading, commenting, writing and praising. always praising He who leads us… love you sis!

  3. You sound like a prophet! I am ready, even if I have not posted in days. I do read and check on everyone I know and I do leave comments, as you can see. 🙂

Leave a Reply

