Paul Told the Ephesians: And the Words Still Hold True.

Paul “Never let evil talk pass your lips; say only the good things men need to hear, things that will really help them. Do nothing that will sadden the Holy Spirit with whom you were sealed against the day of redemption. Get rid of all bitterness, all passion and anger, harsh words, slander, and malice of every kind. In place of these, be kind to one another, compassionate, and mutually forgiving, just as God has forgiven you in Christ. ” ~Ephesians 4:29-32

Now that we have come through both major party political conventions, and multiple embassy attacks, it would be lovely if the country can follow Paul’s advice in Ephesians. As my junior high teacher would say to me, though, when I would make such a suggestion “Good idea, Kate; you go first“.  Believe me, holding myself to this very high standard is plenty to keep me busy. As a matter of fact, if I have enough time to tsk tsk anyone but me on this front, I am not doing a good enough job myself. If we are to forgive each other as God has forgiven us in Christ–what does that mean?

Seriously, if I really think about the above Scripture quote do you know what it boils down to for me? “Do nothing that will sadden the Holy Spirit; and be mutually forgiving, just as God has forgiven you in Christ”. Boy that really covers it all. After all, Scripture doesn’t say to forgive except for the times when… “wealthy people don’t pay more taxes” or “millions of people are jobless” or “this group or that group feels insulted/minimized/denied rights/thinks it’s ok to pass laws that harm someone less powerful”. It just says forgive. It says to be kind. Not “even to the opposition” but especially to the opposition.

My quandary at times has been where to put my (what seems to me to be) justifiable anger? Just like one man’s trash is another man’s treasure;it could also be that ‘one man’s justifiable anger is another man’s irrationality’. God gave us so many of each other so we could learn to love, serve, and forgive. I thank God there are many who guide the way as I stumble along.

About Kate Kresse

I love to write, I love to talk, I love to uplift people when I can. I am a woman in love with life. I am a wife, mom, tutor, writer, and I am a perennial optimist. (OK not every single minute but you get the point! :-)
This entry was posted in faith/courage/miracles/hope and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Paul Told the Ephesians: And the Words Still Hold True.

  1. If only the world was perfect. If only people loved each other as Paul wrote. If only..two small words that can make so much difference…like….. Love Jesus …. two words that changed me, my life and my world but I praise The Lord for them

  2. I love how the Holy Spirit works through you. I needed this reminder today. Thank you Kate!

  3. Caddo Veil says:

    I really appreciate this word today, Kate (and by the way, the blogs are full of forgiveness messages today). Yesterday was one of “those” days for me–I was tired and lost my joy and grace, for sure. So the word to be “kind” to everyone I encounter is quite pertinent–being kind to my neighbors doesn’t mean, “the ones I’ve picked over, and found worthy” (JUDGED). Thanks–and God bless you abundantly! love, sis Caddo

  4. jelillie says:

    A Good word Kate…and timely! We used to sing a song…”You can talk about me just as much as you please. I’ll talk about you down on my knees. All my sins are washed away I’ve been redeemed!” That is the answer about where to put all our righteous indignation!

  5. As the haters of Christ clamp down on us more and more, we’ll have more and more opportunities to show the love of Christ. Thanks for this, Kate.

    • Kate Kresse says:

      argh i have to tell you this…some days I don’t WANT any more opportunities. some days i want to stamp my foot and act like a brat LOL…(ummm mission accomplished? 😉 –just kidding)

Leave a Reply

