Endure the Test: Become HIS jewel

Many days we are tested, aren’t we? I don’t know about you, but there are definitely times when I grumble about undergoing hardships, difficulties, and life-tests. I grumble even though I know that enduring and overcoming tests gives me strength for the journey.

Compare it to physically getting in shape and getting strong.  You must keep pushing to get stronger. Sometimes your muscles ache; sometimes there are setbacks. But you cannot get stronger sitting with your feet up on your couch with a plateful of brownies and watching TV. Believe me, if that was enough to be strong, I would be an Olympic gold medal decathlete!   

Since I know that about physical conditioning, I look at life as a boot camp too. Each difficulty, heartache, and setback are the next level up on that elliptical machine. They are like doing hills when you are on the treadmill or outside running. When you learn to keep rejection and insult in their proper perspective, you overcome a hill.

Endure the test, then. Put up with it and get determined to handle it with GRACE. How? God can help you handle sorrow, irritation, anger, and the “too much muchness” gig. Each time I learn to let go of sorrow or bitterness or even that icky urge to shoot my mouth off at someone who hurt me, I get better at it. I get stronger. I move closer to becoming the consistently grace-filled woman I want to be for Him.

Here is the thing: you aren’t required to like it. When my students complain about having to do homework or having to review for and take a test, I tell them “you don’t have to like it. You just have to do it”. The other piece I tell my students is this, though: if you tell yourself that you at least like being stronger and better at enduring the test, you will garner the strength to do that. Each time you do that, you don’t fight against the test as much.

There can be no testimony without the test. Tests give us the chance to grow and get stronger. Pressure changes us, and can do so in the best way. You see, diamonds are formed under pressure. Are we or are we not intended to be jewels in His crown?  Most definitely we ARE!

About Kate Kresse

I love to write, I love to talk, I love to uplift people when I can. I am a woman in love with life. I am a wife, mom, tutor, writer, and I am a perennial optimist. (OK not every single minute but you get the point! :-)
This entry was posted in faith/courage/miracles/hope and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Endure the Test: Become HIS jewel

  1. Caddo Veil says:

    I love “the too muchness”, Kate–what a great descriptive of our life “here” some days! Yes, I’m a sapphire circled with diamonds–in the making! God bless you abundantly–love, sis Caddo

    • Kate Kresse says:

      You know it! I think the “too much muchness” is a phrase used by Milne in the Winnie-the-Pooh books. Sapphire! I should have known—deep blue, precious, beautiful. God bless you too my friend and sis!!

  2. Ray's Mom says:

    Kate, as always you have a good understanding of life. thank you

  3. Brilliant My dear friend!
    Thank you for that~ BB

  4. Cathy Monteiro says:

    I love that line, “You don’t have to like it; you just have to do it!” I’m stealing it and using it for myself and my students. Thanks, Kate! You are a grace-full woman!

Leave a Reply

