Sometimes you have to be adventurous

I sometimes think that having an adventure must involve extraordinary effort (like mountain climbing), or a long and perhaps expensive trip. But life itself is truly an adventure. When you stop and think about it, each time we head out the door, adventure could be around the corner. It is really a matter of adventure. It is a matter of your perspective or mindset. Our daily lives and efforts can be thought of as an adventure, given the proper mindset!

Sometimes you just have to be adventurous. You try out for a play, interview for a new job, write a story, paint a picture, paint a room a new color–all without a 100% guarantee that it will work out perfectly and exactly the way you want it to. Sometimes it is a raging success other times … not so much. But at least you tried something. At least you gave it a shot~the story and the adventure is the ATTEMPT.

Now each of us at times faces severe and quite unfair limitations and has been handed an almost unbearable number of “nos”. That is when you MUST continue pushing forward and trying. To cower in the corner afraid that you will always be second best pretty much guarantees that you will be. Although it feels like that is safety because you aren’t risking being told no and being disappointed, it is actually far worse. Why? Because you have told yourself you aren’t good enough to even try. Don’t be that guy that doesn’t try! Try!     

It can be so exciting to dust yourself off after a failure and try once again. After all, this next time could be the time it works, right? We all get discouraged. Sometimes it looks hopeless to keep trying. You get so sick of falling short. It is in the refusing to try again that we actually fail. I have a tendency to want to be sure things will turn out the way I want them to before I even begin. You know how it is; you weigh the pros and cons and try to predict outcomes with a degree of certainty. But that is not how life works, is it?

There are many things I am trying to learn these days. Some of those things are subjects I have tried to learn before, but didn’t finish learning all of the material. I look at it this way: I was a far more motivated learner when I went back for my master’s degree than when I was an undergrad. Now I know more than ever how important it is to learn things. I know, too, that I must take care of my health. That includes my physical, mental, emotional, and spiritual health. If there are days that I feel adrift it is because on those days I am adrift!

A true adventure for me is to develop a plan each day. That may sound convoluted to you. It may be that you think that to be adventurous means to be spontaneous. But in reality, in my case, it is important to have a plan. You see, having a plan, a map if you will with a route planned, allows the adventure to happen. I don’t mean I plan out every moment of each day. Instead, I may pick out a goal or general strategy for a particular day. Then I may identify a few things to help me reach it.

Would I sail around the world without a route map? Of course not! If I did, it is more likely to be a disaster than an adventure. None of us wants to run their little skiff aground and be stranded on the rocks.We want to sail straight on across the seas, the wind in our faces or at our backs. Hop on board ~ bring your map and make God your captain. It will be an adventure…..and a very sweet one at that!

About Kate Kresse

I love to write, I love to talk, I love to uplift people when I can. I am a woman in love with life. I am a wife, mom, tutor, writer, and I am a perennial optimist. (OK not every single minute but you get the point! :-)
This entry was posted in faith/courage/miracles/hope and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Sometimes you have to be adventurous

  1. So true. Even marrying can be a scary adventure, yet one of the most common undertakings in all of the world. Same for having a baby. But we have to view it that way.
    I knew a girl who was born terribly deformed, and had to live in a wheelchair. She attended our schools and football boys had to carry her, wheelchair and all, up and down stairs for class changes. Most ignored her. I barely can recall her name, having shared only one class with her.
    But she pressed on. She graduated from college in library science and is employed in a big library as a historian.
    At our 40th class reunion, now that we are all adults and all have faced our own barriers and hearbreaks, many of the most popular girls, the cheerleaders and homecoming queens, actually took time to visit with her, include her, treat her as a person who existed. I watched all this with amazement, never having circulated with ether side of this divide, and realized what a great equalizer this adventure we call “life” can be.
    And blogging, too, because we constantly meet new people who challenge us to higher and higher thoughts. 😉

    • Kate Kresse says:

      oh gosh, you are right about that! I remember being very jittery the morning of my wedding, because it IS such a huge step. Not that I doubted my love for my husband-to-be it was jusst such a new and scary thing!
      Life is an equalizer. I know when I have been back for college reunions, or even extended-family type reunions, it is eye opening and heart warming to see the changes and events folks have been through, and how it has impacted them. What a meandering route we each have traveled. Yet we find a basis for heart-warming friendship, or at least new and deeper ways to be there for each other.
      Through blogging I have seen new outlooks, new information, gorgeous scenery to see, amazing insights, been uplifted, and helped to uplift. It is a true gift. Oddly, it has been a wondrous experience with no hesitation or fear. I don’t visit people’s blogs nearly enough these last 3 months or so. But every time I do—it is true joy.

      And through our blogs, my twin—we found each other!!!

  2. TBM says:

    Inspiring words Kate. I don’t want to be the one who didn’t try either. Good luck!

  3. What a nice way to frame the idea of living life with the adventure of conscious appreciation for an open spirit! I love to learn new things, and think that perhaps that’s one of the reasons I enjoy life as much as I do. If something interests me I go on “adventures” of reading as much as I can to scaffold my understanding, then I often plan “field trips” to either museums or sites within my capability and learn some more. To me, that’s an adventure. To my friends who think white water rafting is an adventure, I’m pretty boring! But the difference in that is that at least I’m never bored. Ha! Debra

    • Kate Kresse says:

      “scaffold my understanding”—oh BOY do I love that expression!! I do the same thing ~ and I do so love learning about museums, music, history, architecture, the scenery of a place too. Then going to see it, take notes, take photos etc…. i am much more in that end of things than white water rafting, bungee jumping, or sky diving!!

  4. Caddo Veil says:

    I probably wasted years, making those lists of pro and cons–just the list-making wore me out, so a lot of things were never ventured. But now I’m on the Blog-Adventure–sure glad I stepped out in faith on that one! Come to think of it, I never bothered with the pros/cons list on this one. God bless you BIG today–love, sis Caddo

    • Kate Kresse says:

      Me too. Even if I didn’t make them physically, I angsted over them in my mind. But you are right~ I did the same thing with my blog. I just jumped in!!! I’m so glad we did, too! I urge so many to give it a try. It is fun to blog—joyous to have a place for self-expression, and to see everyone’s heart and talent. God bless you—and keep writing poems, always, ok? ❤

  5. hugmamma says:

    As I age…every day is an adventure. I embrace it. I’m thankful for a new dawn…and excited for that day’s adventure. What would life be…without the exhale…and the breathing in again?!?…Nonexistent, I’m afraid…

    …and that’ll come soon enough…

Leave a Reply

