The Poem That Was My Touchstone

When my son was a wee baby, I vowed to cherish his childhood and treasure my time with him. His life and the moments that became memories were important to me.The following poem was a touchstone and guide for me throughout his childhood. It continues to have such very special meaning to me.

I Took His Hand and Followed

My dishes went unwashed today,
I didn’t make the bed,
I took his hand and followed
Where his eager footsteps led.

Oh yes, we went adventuring,
My little son and I,
Exploring all the great outdoors
Beneath the summer sky.

We waded in a crystal stream,
We wandered through a wood.
My kitchen wasn’t swept today,
But life was sweet and good.

We found a cool sun-dappled glade
And now my small son knows
How Mother Bunny hides her nest
Where fern and larkspur grow.

We watched a robin feed her young,
We climbed a sunlit hill,
Saw cloud-sheep scamper through the sky;
We plucked a daffodil.

That my house was neglected,
That I didn’t sweep the stair,
In twenty years no one on earth
Will know or even care.

But that I’ve helped a little boy
To noble manhood grow,
In twenty years the whole wide world
May look and see and know.

~ Ms. Peifer

 

 

About Kate Kresse

I love to write, I love to talk, I love to uplift people when I can. I am a woman in love with life. I am a wife, mom, tutor, writer, and I am a perennial optimist. (OK not every single minute but you get the point! :-)
This entry was posted in faith/courage/miracles/hope and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to The Poem That Was My Touchstone

  1. I’d never heard this before Kate. how beautiful. What a perfect reminder too. Gently so.
    Thank you for sharing. ~ BB

  2. Lucid Gypsy says:

    New for me too Kate and so lovely and true, thank you.

  3. That was a beaut! Have you ever heard the one that ends:

    “So quiet down, cobwebs! Dust, go to sleep!
    I’m rocking my baby and babies don’t keep.”

    It’s a similar idea, but I love yours! 🙂

  4. dorannrule says:

    A really lovely poem Kate. It tells what a wonderful mother you are.

  5. harpersfarm says:

    Truly beautiful. Thank you for sharing.

  6. Cee Neuner says:

    I really like that poem. Yeah, who cares about your house anyhow…..

  7. Caddo Veil says:

    Lovely poem, Kate.

  8. Just lovely…………..

Leave a Reply

