These Boots Are Made for Walking

Does anyone remember Nancy Sinatra singing about boots? She’d sing “these boots are made for walking, and that’s just what they’ll do, and one of these days these boots are gonna walk all over you”. She’d bop around in her white go-go boots and sing that song. It was a catchy song and a big hit for her.  I remember thinking that it sounded like a really mean song. The song was about empowerment as a result of bitterness over some negative events in her life. (well, at least the character she represented’s life).

Today is 9/11. Ever since that fateful day, I have felt very grateful to our first responders. During that tragic day, our first responders rushed to try to save lives, with no thought for their own safety or survival. It made me sob to see them running into the buildings to try to save people while people were running out of the buildings. It was then that I realized how much I had taken them all for granted my entire life. I have consciously made the effort to thank them all regularly ever since. How can I not? Today my heart and mind is with the families whose lives were forever directly changed on 9/11/2001. The boots of those who died or were injured left footprints in the hearts and lives of the survivors. To them I say, we pray for you; we remember. The photo below touched my heart today when I saw it posted on FaceBook by my brother-in-law, Bill. The cartoonist is a friend and former colleague of my future sister-in-law Erin. His name is Walt Handelsman. I believe it is a much better touchstone for boots.

About Kate Kresse

I love to write, I love to talk, I love to uplift people when I can. I am a woman in love with life. I am a wife, mom, tutor, writer, and I am a perennial optimist. (OK not every single minute but you get the point! :-)
This entry was posted in Positive Thinking and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to These Boots Are Made for Walking

  1. Beautifully said, Kate. I echo your sentiments, 100%

  2. Maria Tatham says:

    Kate, yes, these are much better boots.
    Glad to have a share in the good thoughts and better feelings that God puts in you!!
    In His love,
    Maria

  3. Caddo Veil says:

    EXCELLENT, Kate!!

  4. reneeboomer says:

    Awesome post Kate. 🙂

    • Kate Kresse says:

      Thanks Renee….’are you ready boots’??

      • reneeboomer says:

        ♫♪are you♫♪ ha ha I remember that song so well. We all loved our boots didn’t we? Have a great weekend Kate. 🙂

        • Kate Kresse says:

          hey how did you make musical notes? That is so cool! You have a great eekend too!! 🙂

          • reneeboomer says:

            Cool hey! Click on ‘alt’ and then click on the 1 and 4 one after the other to get this note, ♫. Make sure to click on the numbers on your right hand side of your keyboard.
            Now to do this one, ♪ … Click ‘alt’ and then click on the 1 and the 3 one after the other and you will do it. ♪ ♫ Have fun playing. ♫♪Happy Weekend to you too♫♪ 🙂 ♥

  5. What a good perspective to share. I think 9/11 will always be a “heavy” day for us. Your thoughts are so right on. Debra

  6. You know I remember the song Kate!

    Absolutely, we as a world embrace the family’s and friend’s, we hold them up in prayer, not just on 9/11 but throughout year when we are gathered with our own families.

    Too large a scarifice for anyone.

Leave a Reply

