What Do You Conquer?

In a recent fortune cookie, I received this aphorism “Courage is not the absence of fear; it is the conquest of it”. I liked it a lot. You see there are times in our lives when we are afraid. Perhaps the future is full of way too many unknowns. We may not know which path to take when it seems there are an infinite number of routes to take. Or perhaps the thing that has to be faced is very, very overwhelming.

Yet, why are we overwhelmed? We know “I can do all things through Christ”. We know to put one foot in front of the other and keep marching. We know if we keep on trying, we can reach the destination. Sometimes they all seem so platitudinal, don’t they? Sometimes if someone says one of those things to me, I feel like saying “oh shut up!” I go all grouchy-smurf!         

But really, I know that all of those things are true. I know that I can at least try to conquer the challenge. The conquest is simply the act of conquering. I can say that the conquest of my tendency to self-sabotage my health is met. I do not need the tendency to do that anymore. Past grief and heartache cannot own me any longer because, you see, I was never for sale or lease to begin with. I do not feel as exposed after weight loss as I feared. I am more than half-way to my goal. A large part of my speed-bump/self-sabotage was tied up in grief type experiences and rejection type experiences. Guess what, though?

Grief only gets to carve at us for awhile, but can only keep cutting if we leave the chisel in grief’s hand. God is a far better sculptor, though. His artistry is magnificent. He is the potter and we are the clay. The courage was available from Him all along. “I am weak, but He is strong”– Changes are a’happening. Top photo is before I started making changes. Bottom photo is me a couple of weeks ago.

Kate on the left, cousin Molly on the right–May 2012

Kate 09-2012

 

About Kate Kresse

I love to write, I love to talk, I love to uplift people when I can. I am a woman in love with life. I am a wife, mom, tutor, writer, and I am a perennial optimist. (OK not every single minute but you get the point! :-)
This entry was posted in Health and exercise and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to What Do You Conquer?

  1. Congratulations on your continued journey in wellness and taking care of yourself! Love the photos!

  2. Caddo Veil says:

    You’re a conqueror, Kate, an over-comer–yay!!! And you’re wonderful–I’m glad I’m not the only one who goes “grouchy smurf” sometimes (there are days…)! God bless you BIG–love, sis Caddo

    • Kate Kresse says:

      God bless you BIG right back. You bet there are days!! Oh boy!! sometimes i almost literally stomp around like a little 3 year old!! Grouchy smurf was always the one that made us laugh!!!

  3. fgassette says:

    Nice pictures. Take good care of yourself.

    BE ENCOURAGED! BE BLESSED!

  4. Kate, you are always such an inspiration but a teacher as well. I am always so enriched by your posts and your journey Thank you for sharing this:
    “but can only keep cutting if we leave the chisel in grief’s hand. God is a far better sculptor”
    An awesome gentle reminder, Thanks, I needed that!

  5. Lucid Gypsy says:

    Well done Kate, keep on conquering!

  6. misswhiplash says:

    I cannot remember when i first learnt this…… Fear knocked on the door. Faith opened it and there was nobody there.
    i always think of this if I feel the slightest fear..my Faith is always with me and that means that The Lord is always with me too

Leave a Reply

