You Can’t Start the Next Chapter

That is certainly the truth, isn’t it? This summer I have focused on making some major changes. As I expected, making changes in my approach to my own health has removed some clutter from my mind at the same time. I am less inclined than I was to accept negative things that come my way. The negative messages that broke my heart are ever so much quieter, because I no longer believe most of them; and the rest of them can no longer over-power me. This is a good thing, because it keeps me focused on the ones who love me the way I am and encourage me to continue to grow. It keeps me focused on the One who loves me.

I am mulling and obsessing less and less about past hurts and heartbreaks. Yes they are still there, yes the emotional scars still exist. But, as I move through my day, I am happier. Oh sure the scars are still there. The past can’t be erased. But I can finally see that the past doesn’t define me. Rather, it reminds me which paths to take and which to avoid. The path to negativity has been closed by me. I won’t let myself explore that path these days. 

Walking every day has given me a new rhythm for my mind. The outlet for my stress is essential. It keeps me sunshine-y. Although I may tie on my sneakers for my walk (or even walk super-fast barefoot in my house for an hour or so), my spirits soar. 

They soar the way they soared when I was a little girl in my FAVORITE footwear (seen below). The one on the left was the one that made my heart take flight. The one on the right made my brain take flight. But now, my whole self takes flight. And it is a good thing. The shoes are no longer the point. I will run my race—straight to His arms.

About Kate Kresse

I love to write, I love to talk, I love to uplift people when I can. I am a woman in love with life. I am a wife, mom, tutor, writer, and I am a perennial optimist. (OK not every single minute but you get the point! :-)
This entry was posted in Health and exercise and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

35 Responses to You Can’t Start the Next Chapter

  1. Butch Dean says:

    Good sense made here.

  2. tbnranch says:

    Great words friend. 🙂

  3. mlissabeth says:

    I have experienced some of that same growth this year, and it feels so good!

  4. How beautifully said, Kate! You really dig deep to find the tools to move forward with grace and enthusiasm! I like that! Debra

    • Kate Kresse says:

      I tend to try to examine things and figure out how to move forward. I am FINALLY trying to really really learn from where I have been so that I stop walking in circles! Thanks, Debra~

  5. reneeboomer says:

    very well worded Kate. It makes so much sense…Great post..:) Renee

  6. Ray's Mom says:

    You have done such an admirable job of keeping your goal in sight.

    • Kate Kresse says:

      Thanks so much for saying that. I am trying so hard. I find the past week and a half I am not as dedicated to my exercise as a few weeks ago. But I am still doing the walking/exercising. You see, I had quite a watershed moment in June. I realized in a very real and new way, that I needed to take care of business for me. I could no longer hide from myself, no longer let past hurts and current hurts define me and make me continue to be someone that wasn’t the authentic me. I guess I realized I had hidden part of my true voice away for far too long! So thank you so very much. I keep trying to hold my own “feet to the fire” !

  7. misswhiplash says:

    no doubt about it Kate me’ dear…in this post I can read a renewed sense of determination, a new strength that will keep you on the right path so that your life will be calm, stress free and happy. And we know where that determination comes from….up above and in our hearts He is always there never ever failing or lacking…always steady, always firm and always right. Praise The Lord!

    • Kate Kresse says:

      Thanks Patrecia! You know, it has occurred to me that just because one has challenges to face or difficulties to overcome does not at all mean that we have stress. I guess that stress (oooh rhyming) is what occurs if we have our challenges in the wrong perspective. If we keep grabbing the steering wheel away from the Lord, we feel stressed! Happiness and love are decisions. Thanks for your supportive words, and your prayers.

  8. TBM says:

    Letting go of hurts is never easy, but essential. I’ve seen too many bitter people in this world. I don’t want to live like that. Enjoy the walking. Miles, my dog, would love to join you!

    • Kate Kresse says:

      I would enjoy walking miles with Miles ;-)! I know what you mean about bitter people. It reminds me of what became of Megghie in The Thornbirds.

      • TBM says:

        I do love the Thornbirds. I recently recorded the miniseries, but haven’t watched it yet. I read that book a few years ago. Miles would love to walk with you! He has a smile that will make your heart sing.

  9. Excellent quote at the start of this post. I’m a brooder who tries hard not to be one 🙂

    • Kate Kresse says:

      Thanks! You know when I lived in the Midwest, and it was gloomy and cloudy SOOOOOOO often, I tended to brood a lot more. Since moving to Arizona (completely sunny more than 300 days a year) I brood far less. But I do get in modes where I just obsess and obsess about something painful or sad. I HATE when I let that happen!!

  10. Kate I struggle with negativity and anxiety. I am also one of those sensitive people which is great when I feel the good things because they are really good but the bad things hurt really bad. Good read you have here. Walking is a stress buster and I am waiting for cooler weather to get back on my routine. I had to laugh when I saw the saddle oxfords. My Mom put me in white bucks every new school year and they still make me smile when I think of them… 🙂

    • Kate Kresse says:

      I struggle with that at times, too. I wish I could find a way to only be sensitive to the good and great things—and more lackadaisical about the painful things!! The cool thing about the saddle shoes for me was when I found some awesome black and white checked shoelaces to replace the original laces. Once I found those, I bought those laces every year and popped them in my shoes from the beginning.

  11. Wonderful quote! So glad you found it and shared it! So many have such a painful past and they little guess the answer is to start a new chapter in the book. That is so true. So true.

  12. Gilly Gee says:

    Wonderfully inspiring writing dear Kate, I’m so impressed with your whole new approach to life. Just one thing though – maybe walk into His arms, there’s no rush!

Leave a Reply

