A Joke from a Friend

A friend of mine named Michael recently shared this joke. Since we just finished one political convention, are heading into another one, and also had a primary election this week in my state, I wanted to share this.

“A man dies and goes to heaven. St. Peter meets him at the Pearly Gates and asks his profession. The man says he was a politician. “Ah,” says St. Peter, “then you may choose whether you would like to go to heaven or hell. You may spend one week in heaven, then one week in hell. At the end of the two weeks, you may decide where you would likes to spend the rest of eternity.”
So the man goes first to heaven. Everyone sits around peacefully strumming their harps and lounging on clouds. It’s pleasant, but not much exciting happens, and no one he knows is there. The man thinks to himself, “man, heaven isn’t all it’s cracked up to be.”
Next, the man goes to hell. He’s greeted upon arrival by all his old political cronies and pals, they play golf, grill out, drink beer, and party late into the night all week long. The man is surprised. “Damn,” he thinks, “hell is a lot better than I thought!”
He returns to the Pearly Gates where St. Peter once again meets him. “Your two weeks are up,” the angel says, “where have you chosen to go?” “Well, shocked as I am to say this,” the politician confesses, “I think I’d rather go to hell.”
“No problem,” St. Peter says, and the man is instantly transported to hell. But it is not how he remembered. It’s hot and miserable, and everyone is screaming in pain. “Satan,” he bemoans, “what happened? When I was here before, everything was great!” Satan shrugs and says, “the campaign’s over.”

About Kate Kresse

I love to write, I love to talk, I love to uplift people when I can. I am a woman in love with life. I am a wife, mom, tutor, writer, and I am a perennial optimist. (OK not every single minute but you get the point! :-)
This entry was posted in Heartwarming or humorous stories and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to A Joke from a Friend

  1. misswhiplash says:

    That is fantastic, and sounds just like a political campaign…very good ..it made me laugh

  2. Butch Dean says:

    Exactly how the deceiver works. Thanks for the smile.

  3. Too painfully realistic. In too many ways. Extremely ironic, though! 😐

  4. Caddo Veil says:

    Oh Gosh! I’m SO laughing, Kate–I think there’s more truth than poetry/joking here!! God bless you Big–love, sis Caddo

  5. Susan Michaels says:

    oooch! good, one, but talk about the truth hurting…and the political spin twisting things all to you know where…help! :/ πŸ™‚

  6. Great post! Thank you, I needed good laugh today. Keep on going.

  7. Got me! O kate that is too funny.. so unexpected.

    I know you have been, and commented at BTH for Your Candle llght Award that you gifted to the Blog. I just wanted to come to your blog and thank you again from BTH. It was such lovely idea and I am not all surprised it came from you. You are thoughtful and creative.

    http://geeton1.wordpress.com/2012/09/01/candle-light-burns-at-bring-them-home/comment-page-1/#comment-169

    • Kate Kresse says:

      thanks; i was going strong for months handing it out to everyone i could find that fit my dream. then i got distracted!! BTH is the Candlelighter-iest of all!

      • You’re treasured blessing Kate.I understand distraction. I’ve been so as well. How wonderful that we can be.
        Thanks again my friend.

        • Kate Kresse says:

          you’re welcome! When I lived in the midwest, sometimes a really snowy or rainy day was a blessing. I would get to my deep cleaning, de-cluttering, making casseroles and soups to freeze for another day…..those were re-focus days for me. Here in AZ we get well over 300 days of sunshine a year. So I need other kinds of re-focus cues. I am still working on that!!

  8. What a great joke! You kind of suck air at the end of this one, don’t you! LOL! Debra

Leave a Reply

