My Philosophy About Awards

This week I am playing catch-up and handing out awards that I have been stockpiling like a squirrel before a brutal winter. 

In the process of my passing them on recently, a fellow blogger wished me luck building my social network when I passed the award on. I hadn’t even considered that that could be a goal or motivation for passing an award on. You see, the WordPress community has been so kind, supportive, and welcoming to me. I truly do hope that no one feels used or manipulated or overworked when I pass an award on. I am a truly sharing person with no hidden agenda.

I began my blog I was at a low point due to some health issues. I needed to get back to my true self. Thus, when someone gives me an award I consider it a kindness and a joy. From my viewpoint, the person giving the award is saying “here is a hug and an attagirl”. The person giving the award is providing a list of fellow travelers so that we can broaden our list of places we read. Not to build a ponzi-scheme network of blogs. Oh no, far from it. Instead, it is like reading a film review or book review. There is no way to explore the hundreds of thousands of blogs. But, I have found some wonderful blogs by looking at awards lists.

When I pass awards on, although I list the supposed “rules” for the awards, I decided long ago that what they do with the award is their business, not mine. My sole purpose in giving them the award is just to do something nice, with no strings attached. Perhaps I should explicitly say that. Perhaps I shouldn’t make lists of awardees, but gosh I love seeing lists on other people’s blogs, just like I love seeing a great book recommendation! Now sometimes people just put an award up and say everyone that wants it can take it. The part of me that wants to ensure that everyone feels included really likes that idea. So going forward, I will do that sometimes. But I know that some people feel glad and happy and loved when they get an award. I am not saying that their self-worth only comes from externals. I am saying that it feels nice when someone says they like what you wrote or photographed or whatever.

So, I guess what I am trying to say is that I am not trying to buy popularity or readership through giving awards. I am fully aware of how busy people are. My readers are a blessing to me. God is in charge of my readership and my students. I believe that God brings me the students and families that He wants me to help. I believe He finds a way to    provide the readers, comment makers, and blogs that are best at this point for me. His paths lead me to some amazing bloggers.  It is an honor to have my blog. I am blessed by all who read my posts and lifted by your prayers and kindness.

I realize this week is full of award giving. That happened because I procrastinated. I would spread out my posts about awards, but I don’t want to hurt the feelings of people who gave me awards by delaying on some and taking care of others.

I wish you each love, joy, and peace today.

About Kate Kresse

I love to write, I love to talk, I love to uplift people when I can. I am a woman in love with life. I am a wife, mom, tutor, writer, and I am a perennial optimist. (OK not every single minute but you get the point! :-)
This entry was posted in Awards, Friendship and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to My Philosophy About Awards

  1. Caddo Veil says:

    I can’t imagine anyone would ever think you have hidden agendas, Kate–you’re very genuine, which is one of the reasons we bonded as blog-sisters! The awards were great fun for me in the beginning–I just ran out of steam, and wanted to do more writing; but that doesn’t mean I dismiss the value of sharing awards–and you’re so right, that the links are like a book or movie (or restaurant) recommendation!! God bless you Big–love, sis Caddo

  2. misswhiplash says:

    I thank you most profusely for the two awards you have given to me. Being an idiot on computers there are things that I cannot do and putting awards oin the right place is one of them. I do have some awards but they got there by sheer fluke….so the ones you gave me are already there and I don’t need to try doing it again.
    Thank you my dear it is much appreciated by an old lady!

    • Kate Kresse says:

      never ever worry about posting the awards, putting the icons up, or even mentioning it if you’d rather not. I give the awards to let people know I care, I notice, I love them, and I appreciate their hard work on their blogs. and I appreciate you too. hugs and prayers. and by the way, i think it is TOTALLY cool that i have a friend in Bulgaria!!

  3. I echo your sentiment here about awards exactly! I don’t pass on awards to’ build a social network’ but because I want to bless others with the “you’re amazing, I noticed, and I want everyone to know how amazing you are” kind of thought. I appreciate every award I’ve been given by you and other fellow bloggers because it shows me someone cares about me and my writing. There’s a vast difference between selflessness and self-serving, and you, Kate, are the definition of selflessness! And I think THAT deserves an award! 😉

  4. Judy says:

    Wonderfully said, Kate. Great post. You would never be seen as having a “hidden agenda”. You are too sweet and honest for someone to think that. You are a true “blogger friend”.

    • Kate Kresse says:

      thanks Judy! He actually got in touch again and said that he is intimidated about the process of following award rules and building networks. i can totally understand that. i am glad he pointed it out in the first place. i think it was an eye opener for me that something that seems agenda-less to me can sometimes seem agenda-filled to someone else. love to you today and each day

  5. I like your philosophy about awards! I would never suspect you having some hidden agenda. You blog from the heart.

  6. territerri says:

    I love your philosophy. I really enjoy these awards and try to keep up, but having been at this blogging thing for …. going on seven years now, I think … I’m not as quick to address them as I once was. And in spite of the fact that my nest is emptying, somehow I often feel busier than ever before and fall behind so easily in my blogging activities.

    I DO love the sentiment behind these awards and I feel the same as you. There is good will and generosity behind them, and regardless of how the recipient handles them, it makes both of you feel good.

    • Kate Kresse says:

      oh boy I get that! I get WAY behind in passing awards on. I finally couldn’t stand having stuff hanging over my head and passed awards on to dozens last week. My stipulation is that folks can pass things on if and when they want. i just ouln’t stand having them piling up!!! worry not about the rules and distribution, okay? You could use a break and a happy place!!

Leave a Reply

