You Give Me Chocolate and Call Me the Light

I am so extraordinarily BLESSED! I get so used to doing the tasks of each day I forget to look at the beauty around me and remember the love I receive each day in my life. My family and my friends each connect me back to God. Sometimes when I feel weak and unable to face another struggle, remembering the people who believe in me helps me  face another day, another battle, another struggle, another challenge. When I cross another finish line, folks are there to catch me as I collapse in either triumph or exhaustion (sometimes both).

I have to believe that somehow I have given them love that sustains them too. I know that i give my heart and loyalty to family and friends. We share that regularly right here, don’t we? When you, my family, and friends weep I taste salt. We sustain each other. I am grateful that i have the chance to love the people I know. God continues to see me through another day.

I keep hoping that I will have something extraordinary to say that may help see you through today–whatever its struggles. Perhaps it is this: even if those who love you are not physically present at this moment, their love surrounds you, and they are there to sustain you. I have often said that if we could see ourselves the way that those who deeply love us see us, we would be so uplifted.  Maybe today each of us could think of one dear friend or family member and try to visualize or even say how that person sees us. Let that lovely image replace our own self-images for a while today.

Believe this with all your strength today: you are loved. It makes me think of a scene from the movie Dangerous Minds. Michelle Pfeiffer had been considering quitting teaching after a series of traumatic events. Her students convince her otherwise. In the closing scene, Michelle is leaving the school building with another teacher and he says to her “how did they convince you to stay?”. She says, “they gave me chocolate and called me the light”. He smiles wisely and says, “ah, that!”….if you haven’t seen the movie it might not make sense….but know this—”You are the light”….even Jesus tells us that “You are the light of the world”…

So do not fear and don’t you dare put that light that is you under a bushel basket. You are making a difference. Even if it seems that it has gone unnoticed, your gift has made the world around you brighter. You have touched more lives than you can ever know. You have touched lives of those you have come in direct contact with. Beyond that, those lives have in turn carried your light and your story to others. And those others also carry your light to still others. Pretty soon we can look around us and the whole world is all lit up.  I pray that today you are lifted up and that you know someone is rejoicing with you in your triumph and weeping with you in your sorrow. When someone sustains you today, know that they have given you chocolates. If you hear a bird chirp today–know that your Guardian Angel is standing nearby…..be the light and enjoy the chocolates.

About Kate Kresse

I love to write, I love to talk, I love to uplift people when I can. I am a woman in love with life. I am a wife, mom, tutor, writer, and I am a perennial optimist. (OK not every single minute but you get the point! :-)
This entry was posted in Friendship and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to You Give Me Chocolate and Call Me the Light

  1. Caddo Veil says:

    This is wonderful–again, and always–Kate. I’d forgotten that movie, and the terrific final scene–so thank you, for reminding of that great line!! God bless you this week–love, sis Caddo

  2. auntyuta says:

    ‘Believe this with all your strength today: you are loved.’
    This kind of reflection is very beautiful. Thanks for this post, Kate. Have a wonderful week!
    Love from Uta

    • Kate Kresse says:

      Uta-thanks so much. You have been in my thoughts and prayers so much. How are you and your family doing this week?

      • auntyuta says:

        It’s so kind of you to ask this, dear Kate. Really, this week has been an extremely difficult week for me, so far. Feeling that I am loved really helps a lot. Whatever difficulties we have right now, they won’t last forever.
        It’s good that Peter and I have a close knit family. This helps to overcome many problems. Thank you, Kate. for your thoughts and prayers!

        • Kate Kresse says:

          I am sure it is difficult. Dear Gaby was a wonderful and special lady and you will all always miss her. lifetimes of memories are stored in your heart, but now new memories cannot be created with her. The sound of her laugh and her voice are stored in your heart….the special times. you all have such memories to remind each other of. each of you will grieve differently during this grief journey. that is what makes it so difficult sometimes, as each of you will be at a different stage of healing….you are in my prayers dear uta

  3. Mary Egan says:

    Katie, what a positve outlook. If you have a chance, look at Kathy Carrigan Collins’ blog she and Bill are writitng while they are volunteering in Bolivia.

  4. territerri says:

    This is what spoke to me in your post: “… even if those who love you are not physically present at this moment, their love surrounds you, and they are there to sustain you.”

    This helped me today. I get wrapped up in missing the ones I love and feel sorry for myself when they’re away from me. If I can remember your words, I think they may not seem so far away.

    • Kate Kresse says:

      oh terri, i do that too sometimes. I have always said that I am really good at “hello” I love hello. I am NOT good at goodbye; no not one bit. But you are right. If we tuck them and their love in our hearts, they are always nearby.

Leave a Reply

