Remember What a Blessing Looks Like

I have mentioned in my posts before that I have made lifestyle changes that began on 6/27. By today I am feeling stronger, healthier, and enjoying the changes. Friday I walked 4 miles in 62 minutes on the treadmill. I have lost 18 pounds. But more importantly, it is getting less likely that I will self-sabotage my own strategies.

By now I have my own curiosity aroused, as a matter of fact. I have eagerly wondering what it will feel like when I burst past my old barriers. I am curious to see how it will feel to see those old speed bumps disappear like sand castles being washed away by an ocean tide. It may make me giggle with delight, in fact!

What does a blessing look like? Blessings come in so many forms. Since deciding that I needed to stop hiding parts of myself I began to explore what I was hiding behind and what I was hiding from. I was hiding behind the “extra person” — my own weight gain. What was I hiding from? The potential of rejection. What reasons did I think people might reject me for–and what made me think I was in part unlovable? I am still working that through, and still writing it.  Sitting here today, though, I realize that I never needed to hide in the first place.

You see, I realize that acceptance and rejection come our way to a greater or lesser extent every single day. Do you remember the story of The Three Little Pigs? The first two houses, the wolf blew right over. The third house (built of bricks) stood strong. But here is the thing. Sometimes when a big bad wolf is trying to blow our house down, all we need do is stand strong, refuse to be intimidated, and blow right back in his face. Sometimes he will turn tail and run like heck. Now isn’t THAT empowering!

Remember what a blessing looks like. It looks like love. It looks like God. It looks like joy.

About Kate Kresse

I love to write, I love to talk, I love to uplift people when I can. I am a woman in love with life. I am a wife, mom, tutor, writer, and I am a perennial optimist. (OK not every single minute but you get the point! :-)
This entry was posted in Bullying, faith/courage/miracles/hope and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to Remember What a Blessing Looks Like

  1. Nandini says:

    Beautiful thoughts, Kate. 🙂 Wishing you all the best for your efforts.

  2. Caddo Veil says:

    Amen, amen! Life Coach, Kate–definitely. God bless you BIG, Sis–love, sis Caddo

  3. And looks like you! Congrats Kate, awesome progress in many ways!

  4. What an inspiring post, thank you, Kate, for sharing your blessing and thoughts.

  5. Tremendous, Kate…congratulations on your great efforts and many, many more blesssings as you continue on this wonderful wellness path!

  6. misswhiplash says:

    There you see..DETERMINATION works….well done Mrs Kate..that is really tremendous and you should feel really proud of your achievement. Many people think it is easy to lose weight but they are wrong…it is one of the hardest things you will ever do but the rewards are beyond compare…confidence in yourself being the main one, health, happiness and feeling good.
    If you don’t feel proud of yourself then let me tell you ” I FEEL VERY PROUD OF YOU!

  7. Perseverence brings success and you are success…. keep up the good work.

  8. Judy says:

    Kate, I love your post! >And I love your background photo! It’s gorgeous! I love the shades of the rocky outcroppings as they fade into the distance (but they’re still clear!)..so awesome!<
    About your post…Good for you! It's so hard to lose weight. But you have the strength and determination to conquer it. Wahoo!
    I know what a blessing looks like: it's YOU! We should all know more people with upbeat positive attitudes like you~ it's catchy. 😉

    • Kate Kresse says:

      Judy–thanks! you saw lots of that photo when you were at the Grand Canyon! It is hard to lose weight. But at last I reached a point in June where it was harder to stay put and not try. Thanks so very much for your kind, kind words. 🙂

  9. Maria Tatham says:

    You are funny and encouraging. (I’ve gained 24 pounds since our move to senior apartments. Yikes!)

    Congratulations and blessings prayed for you!!

  10. reneeboomer says:

    Beautiful words as always! Great job Kate! I am so proud of YOU! Have a wonderful day. 🙂 Renee

  11. staciegh says:

    Hi, I am so happy to have found your blog. I need to learn how to be optimistic! Thank you, Stacie 🙂

Leave a Reply

