Growing in grace and wisdom

Edith Wharton in Vesalius in Zante wrote “There are two ways of spreading light: to be the candle or the mirror that reflects it”.    

Today I say—I want to reflect God’s candle. I get worn out when it feels like people are blowing each other’s candles out. I love to light the way for someone and help to encourage. In the past, I got in a rut of arguing. It’s as though I took my candle into the barn, and rather than lighting the way I set the hay on fire…just to prove it’s flammable.

I resolved a year ago to fight less and to seek other light-bearers out. I have learned to back away from most arguments.  Is it the Irish blood in me that wants to say “ok, time to fight? Jackets on or jackets off”? By reflecting another person’s light — a like minded optimist who is looking at the good, I can recall the peaceful glow of my own lighthouse/candle.

God, the Light of Lights is our candle, the Light of the World,—and we are His mirrors, and sometimes we are also His little candles.

I have come to know so many bloggers who see the intrinsic good God placed in each of us. They quell the darkness. Throughout this past year and a half of blogging I have rediscovered parts of myself that were there all along that I forgot all about. Isn’t it funny how we can hoard things in our minds and hearts? All that emotional junk we hoard totally buries the beauty and holiness within us. That is one of the reasons I got cranky!! But today, and most days, my feet dance a happy dance. I have put much of that emotional clutter in the trash. I am hoarding less and less past emotional junk. As Martha Stewart would say…”It’s a good thing”. 

About Kate Kresse

I love to write, I love to talk, I love to uplift people when I can. I am a woman in love with life. I am a wife, mom, tutor, writer, and I am a perennial optimist. (OK not every single minute but you get the point! :-)
This entry was posted in faith/courage/miracles/hope and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Growing in grace and wisdom

  1. joseyphina says:

    Great message, Kate! God bless you.

  2. Caddo Veil says:

    I love this post, Kate–it lightened my mood and heart today!! God bless you abundantly–love, sis Caddo

  3. Wonderful Wharton quote! I really love that. And you’ve once again hit upon a great “visual” to hold going into a new week…the candle! Hope you have a particularly peace-filled week, Kate. Debra

  4. Gilly Gee says:

    Growing a little each day Kate 🙂

  5. It’s great to let all that clutter go, isn’t it? Then we can work on polishing up the mirror we’re meant to be.

  6. gwen07 says:

    God exists in the grace and beauty that it takes to examine one’s life. It is a solitary endeavor to be accomplished with grace. I’ve come to realize my graceless moments on this path have been when I lash out at others (making them pay) for my failed examination. Yet, the examination continues, allowing time for healing – and that’s ‘ a good thing’

    • Kate Kresse says:

      Gosh, Gwen–that is really true. Examining one’s life IS a solitary endeavor. It has taken me a long time to begin that level of examining myself. It is a gradual process to get to that point. But then, suddenly, here I am. Truly reflecting upon things and examining the “whys and wherefores” of why I have thought certain ways, held on to certain things, and trying to find the underlying reasons. Band-aids can no longer suffice. Healing is essential. Once I can understand WHY I insisted on certain wrong-headed strategies, I can then address those underlying reasons. The underlying reason is, metaphorically speaking, where I dropped a stitch in the knitting. Until I work on what motivated me to take that path and fix the “why” , I will keep jumping back onto that wrong path. By the way, I loved the term “graceless moments”; that is so very accurate!

  7. sanstorm says:

    Very positive, thanks 🙂

  8. You ARE such a good thing in ur loves Kate.
    I just cannot see you as being argumentative, a right fighter is something you must have given up and let go. God bless you sweettie. It’s a waste of the energy we can focus instead on our personal relationshop with God. Giving those in your world the right to think different, have different views, give opinions, is really also honoring those things in yourself.

    Please do me a favor today, hug yourself from me ~ BB

    • Kate Kresse says:

      Baroness~as it turns out, being argumentative was not a good fit for me at all. It made me unhappy when I fell into that pattern. God bless you too. It is essential for me to focus on my personal relationship with God. When I keep my focus there, everything else is in the right perspective. Then I can realize that others will be what they are and think what they wish, with or without my permission. Of course, they do not need my permission as it turns out. Hug received and I send ou hugs right back!

  9. hugmamma says:

    Extremely wise, Kate. I will try to reblog this post on my blog. I’ve tried that with other blogs. Sometimes it’s worked; sometimes not.

    hugs for lighting the dark…hugmamma. 🙂

  10. TBM says:

    I’m always surprised by how much I still have to learn in life. It is a neverending process and I love it. Each day, I learn. I used to have a bad temper, now I don’t like to waste the time and energy. Keep up the good thoughts and momentum.

  11. fgassette says:

    Wonderful post.

    BE ENCOURAGED! BE BLESSED!

Leave a Reply

