Do you ever discover you sold yourself short?

There have been so many times when I try to inspire my students, especially if they are selling themselves short and limiting their possibilities. For instance if they say “I am no good at math” or “I can’t do word problems” I leap right in. I say “you aren’t as good at math now as you will be at the end of our hour together” or “you can’t do word problems yet—but when I show you how, you will learn to be great at them”. Or if they say “they just can’t learn” I point out all the amazing things they have already learned in life and tell them I KNOW they will succeed.

Sometimes they have gotten SO discouraged, especially if they have gotten some bad grades or some negative feedback from teachers and classmates. Every time they put themselves down, I try to redirect them. I want their hearts to be surrounded by love and hope. It is SO important to change the messages their hearts and minds receive. They must be affirmed. That is the sunlight, water, and nutrients that feeds their souls.

You would think that I would affirm myself always, too. In my nervousness about the start of the school year I sold my own self short. Silly me! Of course I am ready to help my students in all their subjects. I forget that somehow God always gives me the ways into my students minds and hearts using the knowledge I have acquired. Why? Am I the most awesome teacher ever? No. BUT I have learned to become awesome at finding a path to their minds and hearts with God’s guidance. I LOVE to see that joy of learning. I LOVE to launch the kites that they are. What a privilege.

Of course, my students also launch my kite. You see—I always wanted to teach. But I wanted a cozy little one-room school house or a little home school. My tutoring gives me that. God shook me awake today. In my heart I could hear Him say–“you are ready. Fear not. You will not fail these precious students, because I am with you every step of the way. Don’t sell yourself short”.

That is what fear is, you know. Fear happens because we have sold ourselves short, often rationalizing it by past failures or disappointments.  We don’t need to do that. God is always with us and He will always guide us and protect us. In my prayers I say “Lord, I am your handmaiden. Please let me know your will. I promise to follow the best I can”. So today I have tossed my fear overboard. Oddly enough, my ship can now sail straight on towards Him without listing over on its side from the ballast of fear.

Do you sell yourself short? It is hard to give that fear up. But it is oh so freeing. Today I pray that you can pitch that ballast overboard. Sail on with hope.

About Kate Kresse

I love to write, I love to talk, I love to uplift people when I can. I am a woman in love with life. I am a wife, mom, tutor, writer, and I am a perennial optimist. (OK not every single minute but you get the point! :-)
This entry was posted in faith/courage/miracles/hope and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Do you ever discover you sold yourself short?

  1. Susan Michaels says:

    So inspiring, Kate, to hear how you work with your students, and Amen!! to pitching away fear as ballast from a ship and sailing on with hope. Beautiful!

  2. Cathy Monteiro says:

    Kate,
    THANK YOU!!! I really needed to read this at the beginning of this school year! Your students are so lucky to have you. You not only help them with the academic subjects, you help them fulfill their full potentials as human beings.

    • Kate Kresse says:

      Cathy~thanks so much. Do you know, it would be like a dream come true to be a student in your class! The things you do to help your students learn, fall in love with learning, and fall in love with literature are truly breathtaking. We just keep weaving those threads into amazing tapestries, don’t we? God gives us gorgeous threads—-and the students weave and so do we. It’s a beautiful thing.

  3. Gilly Gee says:

    Inspirational Kate, I can pack away fear, but keeping it packed away is another matter.

  4. auntyuta says:

    You truly are an inspiration, Kate. Thanks so much for this post. I love every bit of it. As far as fear is concerned, sure, it can creep up any time. How we deal with it when it hits us, this is the question. There certainly are ways to overcome fear, not be overwhelmed by it indefinitely..Sometimes it’s important that we find another person who establishes some confidence in us so that we can lead the life we are meant to lead with hope and love for other human beings.

  5. You just reminded me tonight that the key is to “follow” God, not ask for Him to stay close while following me! I can be so independent! You may be aware of often selling yourself short, but there is humility in that, and that’s a place to start! You have such an open spirit, Kate.

    • Kate Kresse says:

      exactly right Debra, follow Him always. like the Carole King son “where you lead, I will follow…”. And thank you for saying I have an open spirit. I sure do try to have exactly that . 🙂

  6. Caddo Veil says:

    This is so excellent, Kate. God Always makes a way–and He doesn’t set us a task without equipping and anointing us for the work. It’s simple–but I get fearful too, that I won’t be “good enough”. You’re so right–toss the fear overboard, the boat sails true and sure. God bless you Big, Sister–love, sis Caddo

    • Kate Kresse says:

      He has chosen you and you are sailing truer and surer than you realize! The shoreline is curved and you are sailing straight on towards Him. God bless you right back, dear sis! (and you ARE good enough!!)

  7. SmallHouseBigGarden says:

    I don’t, but my oldest boy, (29yo this Sunday!!!! Eek!!) who was just here for a week vacation, does so ALL THE TIME!!! Nothing is harder than watching someone who has SO many talents lack the confidence it takes to really make those talents shine. So yes, Kate, I do know exactly what you’re saying about fear holding people back!
    Interestingly, my boy has started to realize he is his own worst enemy/critic and while we were browsing the Booksamillion store (it is literally across the street from my house…how cool is that!?) he bought a book called “You, Inc” designed to help people sell themselves the way a successful business would. It looked interesting, and he said he read a lot of it on the plane back to boston and liked it.
    Best of luck in your new teaching year….I KNOW you’re more than ready for whatever God throws at you!!!

    • Kate Kresse says:

      i have heard of that book as a matter of fact. How cool that he picked it out for himself!! Thanks for the good wishes and the confidence. The year is off to a fascinating start already! He has me primed and ready—Alleluia!

  8. The dauntless Kate– now we know the rest of the story! 😉
    Love you and KNOW you are ready. ❤

Leave a Reply

