Your Mind And Heart Can Always Take You To Special Places

I think we all have our “happy places” don’t we? For me they are numerous: hands in the garden dirt and planting—or picking fruit and veggies; walking through a forest when the leaves are turning and some have fallen; watching a gorgeous snowstorm with huge flakes; listening to a rainfall on the roof; sunrise or sunset; being near or on a body of water {that one is my mega-favorite}. There are times when I just close my eyes and visualize being one of these places. I can almost here those ocean waves. If you close your eyes and remember as hard as you can what it was like to be one of your favorite places, your mind and heart will take you there.

Jesus would often head to a quiet place, and other times I believe He, too would go to those places in His mind. Why do we do that? Our tasks or troubles may be numerous, but the needs of the heart are simple. Love and loveliness lift our hearts, don’t they? I love hearing the waves, chirping birds or laughing gulls, hearing crunchy leaves….all those things. It FEEDS my heart. It used to be that I would only go (mentally) to my “happy places” when I was upset or stressed. But these days that is no longer the case. I stop in and have a little sweet time just to add joy to my day.

Do you know how I know that we are created to seek those times? EASY to answer that. You see, God knew we needed that respite to re-group. That is why we have a daily gift of sunrise, sunset, twilight, and stars. Those are sweet little reminders of His ever-present loving self.

Yesterday it reached 116 Fahrenheit here in the Phoenix area. Would you like to see a photo of my “happy place” yesterday? It is a lovely winter scene in Wyoming’s Yellowstone Park. If you are having hot weather in your town this day—here is a five minute getaway for you. Smell the pinecones, hear the babbling water, have a peppermint, and a cocoa ;-).

About Kate Kresse

I love to write, I love to talk, I love to uplift people when I can. I am a woman in love with life. I am a wife, mom, tutor, writer, and I am a perennial optimist. (OK not every single minute but you get the point! :-)
This entry was posted in faith/courage/miracles/hope and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Your Mind And Heart Can Always Take You To Special Places

  1. Caddo Veil says:

    “The needs of the heart are simple”–Amen to that, Kate. I so agree, and it helps if we “set our mind to be happy”! God bless you abundantly today–love, sis Caddo

  2. I think we never think of taking those happy time retreats when things are going well. I think maybe that is because we are busy making more happy retreats. But on the even-keel days, it never hurts to have a short burst of wind in the sails to hurry us along! 😉 Thanks for this!

    • Kate Kresse says:

      Hey I have never thought about that before. I never do go to my happy place when things are going well. It is different then. For example if I am feeling at peace while I look out my kitchen window when I am doing dishes, I may still go to the ocean in my mind==but because seeing the sunset over my back yard makes me thing about pretty sunsets at the beach. Or if I am laughing and having a wonderful time with my family I get that joyous feeling. At those times I don’t journey to my happy place. Instead the texture of the time is extra beautiful. It gives me more happy places. that is so true!! I love the energy of a short burst of wind in the sails to hurry us along. How true and how beautiful. thanks- love you!

Leave a Reply

