Sunset– Sunrise

Some days feel more symbolic than others. I ran into a friend of mine at church and she noticed that I had lost weight. That made me feel good. Not in a vain way, like in the past, but in a lovely way. You see, each day I am feeling less inclined to sabotage myself. This is indicative of some internal change.

I feel a bit less in need of having excess weight to hide behind. By now I have been exercising and eating right since 6/27. That is about 5 1/2 weeks and I have lost 12 pounds. More importantly than the weight and the exercise is that some of the internal emotional wounds have begun to heal.  Some of the sorrow that caused some of the wounds is no longer welcome here. Yes there was loss and hurt. But I am no longer willing to have those things hold me back.

I cannot have those painful past things define my future joyous possibilities. I want my possibilities back; even though by now some of those possibilities by necessity are re-defined. How do I gain possibilities in my life? By deciding one day at a time that I still have plenty of chances for my own brands of joy and triumph. So today, this day, I shall skip and leap and dance with joy. 

In looking back over past sorrows and speed bumps I can also see that I have grown and changed more than I realized. I bet if you were to examine the past years you would see that too. That is what has propelled me forward to make these fresh changes in my life. Will I sustain my effort~~ YES. How do I know? As I said~I want my possibilities back. Life is definitely good.

God is with me every step of the way. And oh boy, have my blogging friends been supporting me. Thank you! So take a look below at my sunset/sunrise picture. You see the sun is setting on my speed bumps. It is rising on a gorgeous shore line.

About Kate Kresse

I love to write, I love to talk, I love to uplift people when I can. I am a woman in love with life. I am a wife, mom, tutor, writer, and I am a perennial optimist. (OK not every single minute but you get the point! :-)
This entry was posted in Health and exercise and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Sunset– Sunrise

  1. misswhiplash says:

    Fantastic news…another 2 ibs and that is one stone less than 6 weeks ago…no wonder people are noticing…such determination…… and yes it is great also that you are getting your life back on track…slowly slowly…not in leaps and bounds.

    As you said the Good Lord is with you and He will always steer you in the right direction.

    love P

  2. Caddo Veil says:

    “By deciding, one day at a time, that I still have plenty of chances”–Kate, this is all so powerful, but those words RING in my ears and heart!! Oh wow–I have much to share with you, but am waiting for God’s green light. Let’s keep praying for each other, and thanking God for his beyond belief Goodness to us!!

  3. reneeboomer says:

    Way to go Kate!! You started all this on “June 27”, my birthday. tee hee. I am so proud of you and most of all happy for you with your weight loss and what you are accomplishing. Yes, “one day at a time” we can do so much. More prayers. hugs. Happy Sunday. 🙂 Renee

  4. mlissabeth says:

    Thank you for another inspiring post. God’s blessing you, big!

  5. Ray's Mom says:

    You are doing such a good job for yourself this time…..you are an inspiration.

  6. Congratulations, kate! Life is all about accepting that the past is the past and moving forward one day at a time. Good on you!

    • Kate Kresse says:

      Thanks so much. Life sure is about that, Terry. I have to be really strict with myself and catch myself dragging the past around with me and hiding behind it. Each day is a new chance to do it. If I cam consistent, through God’s grace, I will one day realize that I have left those pasts behind…or they will still be with me but become part of a background color, no longer a distraction from the true big picture.

  7. It’s wonderful to have someone notice and give encouragement when you’re being so purposeful in your new journey. I think the best healing occurs in baby steps, Kate. Don’t look back, only forward! Big hugs for a wonderful new week! oxo Debra

    • Kate Kresse says:

      The amazing thing is that when I set up my goals this time, I purposely set it up in tiny, and I do mean tiny, measurable goals. Thus, when the progress is now incremental, I cannot beat myself up over the incremental-ity of it. why? I PLANNED for the changes to take a long time. Thanks for the hugs and lovely wishes. Your support is so affirming and means so very much. Hope your week is going well xo and prayers Kate

  8. Love you. Love that you’ve had success. Love your new background, too. 🙂

    • Kate Kresse says:

      Glad you like the new background! I had had the other one so long that I forgot which boxes to check off to get the new one set up…then I got it right!! Thanks for the love of your friendship and being glad that I am succeeding. Feels good to continue to move forward!! Eyes on the prize and eyes on HIM the ultimate prize.

  9. Thank you for sharing such inspiration!

  10. eof737 says:

    Congrats on your effort… it is a good feeling too. 😉

Leave a Reply

