Jesus, the water, and me~

Water shot---even in the desert Being around water has always been restorative to me. When I was a kid it was lakes and rivers and walking in the rain. As an adult it has included those things and expanded to include ponds and the ocean. (and a long shower or soak in the tub). The above photo was taken at a Riparian Preserve in our town. It is lovely, peaceful and restorative. I just love being near the water.

When I am feeling sad or stressed I find that getting myself near water is a huge help and boost to my mood and outlook. Even a perennial optimist like me needs a boost now and then!

Jesus spent time preaching to the multitudes and being with His disciples near the water. Baptized in the River Jordan, calling some of His disciples, calming the storm, breakfast on the beach after His resurrection…..is that why I feel so close to Him when I am around the water (among other places)? I think my answer is Yes. Does that mean I do not feel His presence in the desert of the southwest U.S.? I actually feel His presence just as much. And, as a matter of fact~there are lakes all over the place scattered throughout Arizona! Does that surprise you? It sure surprised me when we moved here! The photo below is Lake Pleasant in Arizona.

Wishing you joy today~and a peaceful heart.

About Kate Kresse

I love to write, I love to talk, I love to uplift people when I can. I am a woman in love with life. I am a wife, mom, tutor, writer, and I am a perennial optimist. (OK not every single minute but you get the point! :-)
This entry was posted in faith/courage/miracles/hope and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Jesus, the water, and me~

  1. Butch Dean says:

    The writings of a peaceful heart…thank you.

  2. Caddo Veil says:

    God bless you muchly, Kate–love, sis Caddo

  3. TBM says:

    I love being near any water.

  4. misswhiplash says:

    lovely pics and so tranquil

  5. Water to me is cleansing. We are made up by a big percentage of water and that too is why the rain is doing such an important job right now of cleansing the planet
    My spirit is always uplifted by the water. Whether it be a stream river or ocean
    Sending you much love Kate the photo beautiful xx Sue

    • Kate Kresse says:

      I know what you mean, Sue! Sometimes if I am at home and feeling stressed, all I need to do to feel better is to literally get my head wet!!! So restorative. I think the joy of water may be why dolphins laugh so much! I send you love right back dear sue oxo — kate

  6. Love the ocean.
    Could use some rain! 🙂

  7. Maria Tatham says:

    Wishing you joy too, Kate!
    Yes, being by water is refreshing in every way. Jesus spent much of His time by the water, and provides living waters for us. How lovely! If the earth is dry enough, or a person is sad enough, even the rain is a terrific blessing.
    So glad Arizona has places for you! Here, we have a ditch out back. It easily fills with rainwater that overflows a nearby quarry. Ducks and their babies sometimes swim up here, right by our back patio. Lovely stuff! In the last couple of weeks, we’ve begun to get some of our needed rain, and it is a joy.
    May you be refreshed today, Kate!
    Maria

Leave a Reply

