A Kick in the Pants

After a comment posted by Katharine Trauger I decided to look up some quotes by the magnificent president Teddy Roosevelt. I may re-visit some of his quotes again, as so many of them are full of wisdom. Today, this particular quote made me laugh out loud because it is a real gem!.

“If you could kick the person in the pants responsible for most of your trouble, you wouldn’t sit for a month”. ~ Theodore Roosevelt.

For some reason that is very empowering to me today. You see, I have been spending a bit of time reflecting upon where my past speed bumps and detours have been that set me on a less than healthy living path. Of course, I have not discerned where all those detours were and what is behind them.

But the kick in the pants quote identifies oh-so-appropriately that my reaction to the speed bumps IS my problem! While it is true that every action has an equal and opposite reaction, Β it overlooks something important. Even though a car hits a patch of ice, one has the option of steering in the direction of the skid or opposite the direction. That is less than clear now that I write it.

Here is what I mean. Eleanor Roosevelt famously said that no one can insult you without your permission. SO!! Even though someone attempts to paint a horrible image of you, that doesn’t mean you are stuck with it, does it? NOPE! You see, the paint has been slapped onto a pane of glass and a yucky picture has been painted. BUT you and the Master Artist can put your hands down into that paint and paint a new painting. You don’t have to wait—do it while the paint is still wet. If the paint dried like fast-drying acrylics? Get more paint, or healing water. The thing is, the bad image someone painted is not there forever.

So the kick in the pants is to tell yourself to get moving and change the painting. It is your and God’s painting. No one else’s. Be your beautiful painting. Shine so much that you reflect God’s love. You see, a painting on glass can be held up to the light—like stained glass. It is so pretty!

About Kate Kresse

I love to write, I love to talk, I love to uplift people when I can. I am a woman in love with life. I am a wife, mom, tutor, writer, and I am a perennial optimist. (OK not every single minute but you get the point! :-)
This entry was posted in faith/courage/miracles/hope and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to A Kick in the Pants

  1. Ray's Mom says:

    Love the quote and your story….thanks and have a wonderful weekend

  2. fiztrainer says:

    This is so inspirational!!! Thank you … πŸ˜€

  3. I completely understood your analogy with steering into the ice or not. I hope that does not mean somethhing πŸ™‚
    I love coming here and finding my self being lifted. This is an inspiring post that somehow feels like it’s spoken to just me. Right now.
    Thank you Kate for this, and thank you for you.
    You keep on shining girl ~ BB

  4. Caddo Veil says:

    Kate, you never fail to lead us up and out!! Bravo!! I am SO living this post–refusing to accept anymore the “paint that someone else colored me with”, the wounding voices and their words. God and me are scraping off the canvas–(we’d get a new one, but there’s some interesting stuff in all those layers!!)–and I have a batch of new colored paints, and beautiful soft brushes–oh, we’re gonna have a time, doing this new masterpiece!! God bless you richly today–have a blessed weekend! love, sis Caddo

  5. dorannrule says:

    Tomorrow is the day I plan to give the person who has caused me the most trouble a kick in the pants. Thanks for sharing this Katae! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

