Summer Vacation When I Was 11 – Part 2

Yesterday I wrote part 1 of this story about a special August vacation with my parents and brothers. Here is the link if you missed it.

https://believeanyway.wordpress.com/2012/07/31/summer-vacation-when-i-was-11-part-1/

As we got close to Stillwater, we were hit by a deluge! My folks could hardly see to drive the boat. Thunder and lightning were all around us.  We were soaked to the skin as we pulled in to the marina. The marina man let us park there. We grabbed our bags and sloshed our way to the Lowell Inn. We looked like river rats as we dripped and sloshed ALL over the lobby. Water was actually pouring off of us! Dad asked if they had a room and they did. The bellhops were mopping behind us all the way to our room. We tried to act dignified—but we laughed the whole way to our room. The beds felt like the finest luxury that night~ and our wet clothes were stiff and dry in the morning.

The next day I needed a new swimsuit as mine had torn apart mid-ski the day before! Don’t worry, I dropped my rope, held my suit around me, and went under water.[Such talent, I tell you! :-)].  Dad brought the boat around, I explained my predicament. Dad threw me my beach cover up and I put it on underwater!! The next day I got the prettiest lime-green one piece swimsuit ever.

After lunch we checked out and made our way back to Winona with fewer stops as it was almost time for school to start. That is one of my most memorable vacations. Since that memorable vacation there have been many a time that I have: looked at a starry night, toasted a marshmallow, smelled a wood fire or seen a lime-green anything and the memories of that trip rush right back. It is part of my wonder years. I remember the feel of water skis beneath my feet and see the stars and sand.

I remember when I felt that no day would be without laughter; and I still know this ~ the world is still ever so full of the most wondrous things. Do you remember the feel of the wind in your face when you went up in a swing? I bet this will remind you of that!

The Swing

How do you like to go up in a swing,
Up in the air so blue?
Oh, I do think it the pleasantest thing
Ever a child can do!

Up in the air and over the wall,
Till I can see so wide,
River and trees and cattle and all
Over the countryside–

Till I look down on the garden green,
Down on the roof so brown–
Up in the air I go flying again,
Up in the air and down!

Robert Louis Stevenson

About Kate Kresse

I love to write, I love to talk, I love to uplift people when I can. I am a woman in love with life. I am a wife, mom, tutor, writer, and I am a perennial optimist. (OK not every single minute but you get the point! :-)
This entry was posted in faith/courage/miracles/hope and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Summer Vacation When I Was 11 – Part 2

  1. Northern Narratives says:

    I still swing sometimes 🙂

  2. Butch Dean says:

    Memories…sweet memories.

  3. Caddo Veil says:

    Oh that poem takes me back, Kate! God bless you today–love, sis Caddo

    • Kate Kresse says:

      Thanks Caddo! My folks weren’t one bit into buying books—we borrowed them from the library. But they did give me “A Child’s Garden of Verses” by Robert Louis Stevenson when I was a youngster. I must have read it a million times! God bless you today too — sis Kate

  4. TBM says:

    Sometimes I will seek out a park to swing. Ah to be a kid again. Once when I was body surfing in the Pacific I lost my suit. I was 10 or 11 and how embarrassing. Glad you were able to get dressed underwater. I had to come out for my shirt.

    • Kate Kresse says:

      It would be fun to be a kid again~ we’d appreciate it even more knowing what we know now!. Oh boy~ that must have been silly and traumatic all at the same time when you discovered you lost your suit and had to come out for your shirt. Kind of unforgettable, right?

  5. I have always loved that poem. As a child, I recognized in it the “why-for” of poetry, the love we can attach to a poem. It took me away and still does. 🙂

Leave a Reply

